Featured Motorcycle Brands

Motorcycle.com Staff
by Motorcycle.com Staff

Live Daytona Coverage

By George Obradovich, Mar. 10, 2005
Before anyone gets all teary-eyed about lack of live MC racing coverage, here is the live Daytona coverage brought to you by SPEED.

Thursday, March 10
Road racing fans can tune in Thursday, March 10, beginning at 3 p.m. EST for three straight hours of live programming. Coverage starts with the final portions of Daytona 200 qualifying before switching into race mode with the Repsol Lubricants Superstock final at 3:45 EST. Last years Repsol Lubricants Superstock Series championship was the closest title hunt in the paddock as Aaron Gobert edged Yamaha teammate Jamie Hacking by just three points. Beginning at Daytona, the 2005 edition could prove to be just as close, with Yamaha, Kawasaki and Suzuki all fielding factory efforts.

The Pro Honda Oils Supersport Championship presented by Shoei is set for LIVE coverage at 4:45 EST. The race will be Tommy Haydens first as a defending series champion, following last years Supersport season crown.

The three-hour block concludes with recaps of the Daytona 200 and AMA Superbike Championship qualifying sessions.

Friday, March 11
Beginning at 11 p.m. EST on Friday, March 11, SPEED Channel will carry three hours of same day coverage from the Daytona Supercross by Honda. Under Daytonas tri-oval lights for the first time last year, Yamahas Chad Reed added his name to the whos who list of Daytona Supercross winners. This year, fellow Supercross stars Ricky Carmichael, Kevin Windham, Mike LaRocco and others will join Reed for another shot at the most grueling race on the schedule.

Saturday, March 12
Race fans can settle in for nearly a full day of action on Saturday, March 12, with five and one-half continuous hours of live coverage from Daytona International Speedway beginning at 11 a.m. EST.

Kicking off Saturdays action is the opening round of the AMA Superbike Championship presented by Parts Unlimited. With the deepest field in years, five-time series champ and Yoshimura Suzuki rider Mat Mladin will have to hold off teammates Aaron Yates and Ben Spies, American Hondas Miguel Duhamel and Jake Zemke, Erion Hondas Kurtis Roberts and Ducati Austins Eric Bostrom and Neil Hodgson for a shot at this years title. Look for Attack Kawasakis Josh Hayes, Diablo Performance Racings Steve Crevier and Francis Martin, Michael Jordan Motorsports teammates Jason Pridmore and Steve Rapp, and others to join the mix as well.

During a break in the on-track action, at-home viewers will get to see taped coverage of the AMA Ford Quality Checked Flat Track Championship race from Thursday, March 10. Six-time AMA Grand National champ Chris Carr will lead a competitive field as he looks to become the first four-time winner at Daytona Beachs Municipal Stadium.

The Daytona 200 kicks into high gear beginning with the pre-race show at approximately 1:30 p.m. EST. The SPEED Channel announcer team will update fans with rider interviews, race facts and up-to-the-minute news before the 64th edition of the Daytona 200 gets underway at 2 p.m. EST. A win by Hondas Miguel Duhamel could etch his name next to yet another record by tying Scott Russells mark of five career victories in the big race.

Would you like us to deliver Motorcycle.com Articles in your mail box once a week? Simply submit your e-mail address below !
Motorcycle.com Staff
Motorcycle.com Staff

Motorcycle.com presents an unrivaled combination of bike reviews and news written by industry experts

More by Motorcycle.com Staff

Join the conversation