Mladin victory awaits inspection

Suzuki records second sweep in provisional results

By Motorcycle.Com Staff, Aug. 18, 2008

The rest of his AMA Superbike competition was unable to stop Mat Mladin from recording his sixth consecutive win but a technical inspection might.

The American Motorcyclist Association is comparing the crankshaft from Mladin’s Rockstar Makita Suzuki GSX-R1000 with production models to determine if his provisional victory in the Aug. 17 Superbike race at Virginia International Raceway will stand.

If the AMA determines that the crankshaft was legal, Mladin will move within 18 points of teammate Ben Spies for the series championship. A disqualification would put Yamaha’s Eric Bostrom on the podium in third place.

Mat Mladin was named the winner of Race 1 at VIR but his second win is pending an inspection.The delayed result of the second of the weekend’s races puts a damper on another successful weekend for Suzuki. If the provisional results stand, the Rockstar Suzuki team will duplicate its one-two-three finish from the Aug. 16 Race 1 which saw Mladin win ahead of Spies and teammate Tommy Hayden.

In other racing action at VIR, Jordan Suzuki’s Aaron Yates recorded his second consecutive Superstock win and fourth of the season. Yates jumped to an early lead passing teammate Geoff May and Team ESP’s Chris Peris.

The two Jordan Suzuki riders pulled ahead of Peris and held a commanding lead on the top two spots before May made a mistake trying to defend the lead from Yates. The error sent May off the track and allowed Peris and Corona Honda’s Jake Holden to overtake him.

May was able to pass Peris for third but another mistake cost him the podium spot. He mistook Yates’ pit board for his own, causing him to ease up on the throttle.

“I thought it was my board,” says May. ”His is written differently than mine, so I thought I had a three second gap.”

May realized his error too late and was overtaken by Peris and Team M4 EMGO Suzuki’s Blake Young, who began the Superstock race from pit lane.

Erion Honda’s Josh Hayes won the Supersport class race ahead of the Yamaha duo of Ben Bostrom and Josh Herrin.