2010 Isle of Man TT recap

Hutchinson wins a record five races

By Motorcycle.Com Staff, Jun. 14, 2010
Ian Hutchinson made history by winning a record five Isle of Man TT races, winning the Senior TT, Superstock and both Supersport classes.

The Padgetts Honda rider won a shortened four-lap Senior TT by 37.77 seconds on the final day of the 2010 Isle of Man TT to complete a perfect five-for-five sweep of the solo classes. The previous record for wins in a single TT belonged to Phil McCallen who won four races in 1996 with a third place finish in the Lightweight 250 TT race.

Hutchinson began the week by winning the Superbike TT, ahead of Michael Dunlop (Honda) and Cameron Donald (Suzuki). McAdoo Kawasaki racer Conor Cummins led Hutchinson by nearly 22 seconds before mechanical problems knocked him out of the race. With a 50 second lead over the next racer, Hutchinson cruised to an easy win.

The first Supersport race proved to be a closer race. Hutchinson had to outsprint Wilson Craig Honda rider Guy Martin to win by 3.03 seconds. Dunlop would finish third on a Yamaha.

With a record five wins in a single Isle of Man TT, Ian Hutchinson is the Michael Phelps of road racing.

Later that same day, Hutchinson scored victory #3 in the Superstock race, this time by an even narrower margin. KMR Kawasaki’s Ryan Farquhar led for the first three laps before Hutchinson moved ahead on the final lap, overcoming a 5.54-second deficit to win by 1.32 seconds.

The second Supersport race was held on the Thursday after heavy rains cancelled racing on Wednesday. The change in the schedule did not break Hutchinson’s momentum however. Hutchinson came out ahead in a close battle with Dunlop to tie McCallen’s record of four wins in a single TT.

The record-tying race had a tragic side to it however as experienced TT competitors Paul Dobbs, 39, from New Zealand, and Martin Loicht, 48, from Austria, died in separate accidents. Dobbs was involved in an accident at the Ballagarey section while Loicht was killed in an incident at the Quarry Bends section.

Rizla Suzuki's Loris Capirossi rode a lap of the Mountain Course on a Suzuki GSX-R1000. Relentless Suzuki racer Cameron Donald took Capirossi's Suzuki GSV-R MotoGP bike for a spin, reaching a record top speed of 202 mph on the Sulby straight section.

The Senior TT was a much easier race for Hutchinson after rivals John McGuinness (Honda), Cummins, and Martin each retired.

Dainese ambassadors Jorge Lorenzo and Angel Nieto rode an honorary lap of the Mountain Course.Martin was involved in an incident at the Ballagarey section that left his motorcycle in flames, leading to the first ever red flag in the Senior TT. Martin was taken to hospital and treated for bruised lungs and fractures in his upper vertebrae. Cummins crashed at the Verandah section, breaking his left arm and pelvis.

McGuinness was more fortunate, retiring with a problem with his kill switch on the second lap after the restart. Unfortunately for McGuinness, whose 15 Isle of Man TT wins is the most of any active racer, the retirement left him held off the podium the entire week, the first time he’s been shut out on the Isle of Man since his debut in 1996.

In the Sidecar class, Klaus Klaffenbock and Daniel Sayle swept both races for LCR Honda. Klaffenbock’s win in the first Sidecar race made him the first non-Manxman to win since 2003, and the first Austrian to win any TT race since 1954. The duo overcame a 10-second deficit in race two to pull off the double.

California’s Mark Miller won the TT Zero electric motorcycle race for MotoCzysz, falling just short of winning the 100 mph bounty. Riding the MotoCzysz E1PC, Miller lapped the Mountain Course in 23:22.89, while averaging 99.513 mph on the fifth and final lap. That left MotoCzysz narrowly losing the 10,000 pound award put up by the Isle of Man government for the first TT Zero team to record a 100 mph lap.

Mark Miller and the MotoCzysz team just missed out on a 10,000 pound reward for being the first TT Zero team to record a 100 mph lap.

Last year’s TTXGP winner Rob Barber of Agni Racing finished second, averaging 89.290 seconds. While Man TTX racing’s James McBride coming in third at 88.653 mph. Agni Racing’s Jennifer Tinmouth was seven seconds behind in fourth while George Spence was well behind on a motorcycle produced by engineering students at London’s Kingston University.

Related Reading
2010 North West 200 Report