2009 Isle of Man TT - Supersport results

Broken wire costs racer the win

By Broken wire costs racer the win, Jun. 09, 2009
The 2009 Isle of Man TT Relentless Supersport race went down to the wire. Literally.

Relentless Suzukis Bruce Anstey held a ten-second lead going into the fourth and final lap and was moments away from recording his eighth Isle of Man TT win when his motorcycle came to a stop. A wire on the bikes amplifier had snapped, causing the battery to stop charging.

With the race leader retired, Padgetts Honda racer Ian Hutchinson took the win by 6.81 second margin over Hydrex Hondas Guy Martin.

Ian Hutchinson won the 2009 Isle of Man TT Supersport race.

Keith Amor of Wilson Craig Honda finished a second behind Martin to complete the podium.

HM Plant Honda racers Steve Plater finished fourth and John McGuinness finished fifth to put five Honda motorcycles on top of the Supersport race.