14 Teams Accepted for 2012 MotoGP Season

Motorcycle.com Staff
by Motorcycle.com Staff
The International Road Racing Teams Association has provisionally accepted 14 new teams for the 2012 MotoGP World Championship.

The 14 teams, including 21 riders, have passed the first step towards entering the 2012 MotoGP season with the new 1000cc engine regulations. The 14 teams do not include the teams currently competing in MotoGP, as they are already approved for the 2012 season.

The IRTA selected the 14 teams were selected from 16 initial applications submitted by the April 29 deadline. The selected teams will receive instructions on putting together a more comprehensive plan for competing in the 2012 MotoGP Championship.

Teams will have until May 14 to submit their comprehensive applications, after which a provisional list of accepted teams will be announced.

Related Reading
MotoGP Accepting Applications for 2012

Get Motorcycle.com in your Inbox
Join the conversation