Categories: Mini-Features
March 19, 2018
| On 5 years ago

2019 MotoE World Cup Teams Announced

The 2018 MotoGP season had just began this weekend at the Losail International Circuit in Qatar, but series organizers are already looking ahead to 2019, as the first 11 teams for the inaugural FIM Enel MotoE MotoE World Cup electric racing championship were announced.

The 11 teams (running 18 riders all together) for the inaugural 2019 season are all already competing in the MotoGP, Moto2 and Moto3 championships, including all of the satellite squads in the premier class. All teams will be racing with the Energica Ego Corsa which will be showcased in a demonstration lap at the season opener in Qatar, with more demo laps planned for other rounds.

The initial list of teams (with the other classes they compete in listed in parentheses) is comprised of:

  • Tech 3 Racing (MotoGP, Moto2)
  • LCR Team (MotoGP)
  • Marc VDS Racing Team (MotoGP, Moto2)
  • Pramac Racing (MotoGP)
  • Angel Nieto Team (MotoGP, Moto3)
  • Esponsorama Avintia Racing (MotoGP, Moto3)
  • Gresini Racing (MotoGP, Moto2, Moto3)
  • Sky Racing Team VR46 (Moto2, Moto3)
  • Pons Racing (Moto2)
  • Dynavolt Intact GP (Moto2)
  • SIC58 Squadra Corse (Moto3)

The MotoE teams were briefed Friday at Losail for the first ever series constituent meeting, to provide them with some preliminary information. A lot of details still need to be finalized, such as which five MotoGP rounds will host a MotoE race next season, but the meeting was intended to let them start making decisions on riders and crews.

“We will have five rounds next year in Europe. We haven’t yet decided on the tracks we’ll be going to, but as I said it was a kick off meeting so all things have to be put in place,” says Nicolas Goubert, MotoE World Cup director. “Basically, it starts now. It was important to see all the teams because now they have enough information to get organised; to start looking at the riders they’ll have and look at the crew they’ll have.”