2015 Harley-Davidson Road Glide First-Ride Review + Video

Tom Roderick
by Tom Roderick
We’re committed to finding, researching, and recommending the best products. We earn commissions from purchases you make using links in our articles. Learn more here

After a year hiatus the Road Glides back in black

When it comes to liking the cut of one’s jib, no motorcycle owns a profile quite like the Road Glide’s. Not only is the Road Glide unique in Harley-Davidson’s line-up, but also in the realm of cruiserdom. Others emulate the fork-mounted, batwing fairing of Street Glides and Ultras, but the Road Glide’s frame-mounted fairing and its distinctive styling sets it apart from the crowd.

2015 Harley-Davidson Road Glide

Editor Score: 79.5%
Engine 17.5/20
Suspension/Handling 8.0/15
Transmission/Clutch 8.25/10
Brakes 9.0/10
Instruments/Controls4.25/5
Ergonomics/Comfort 7.75/10
Appearance/Quality 8.75/10
Desirability 8.5/10
Value 7.5/10
Overall Score79.5/100

This striking fairing quality was what made the omission of the Road Glide from Harley’s 2014 lineup so apparent. In an ends-justify-the-means scenario, the yearlong vacation was well-deserved because the Road Glide has returned, endowed with the benefits of Project Rushmore upgrades.

2015 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Preview

In summary, those upgrades include: High Output Twin Cam 103 engine, dual Daymaker Reflector LED headlights, triple splitstream fairing vents, color TFT Boom! Box 4.3 infotainment system, a swept-back handlebar, one-touch hard saddlebags, cruise control, adjustable air-ride rear suspension and new ergonomic hand controls.

When we tested the HO Twin Cam 103 engine in the Street Glide Special against the Indian Chieftain, Editor of Persuasion, Evans Brasfield, and I were impressed with 103’s performance. “The HO Twin Cam is more responsive and revs quicker than the Thunder Stroke,” said Brasfield. “This is not to say that the TS feels like it lacks power, but the Harley’s engine always feels raring to go, eagerly awaiting that next twist of the throttle.”

And so it is with the Road Glide, even though it carries an extra 39 pounds than the Street Glide Special. Acceleration is brisk, passing power abundant, speeds above idle are vibration-free, and the R-b-W throttle feels nicely cable actuated. We experienced no excessive engine heat, and our observed fuel mileage was 39 mpg (H-D claims 42 mpg).

2015 harley davidson road glide first ride review video, Check out them thar speakers You can almost hear AC DC coming through the photo Below each speaker resides a small self closing glovebox The one on the right features a USB connector but no way to secure your smartphone or iPod
Check out them thar speakers! You can almost hear AC/DC coming through the photo. Below each speaker resides a small, self-closing glovebox. The one on the right features a USB connector, but no way to secure your smartphone or iPod.

The new buckhorn handlebar is internally wired (nice touch), and provides a comfortable reach for this five-foot-11-inch tester, with only full-lock U-turns requiring some stretching to the outermost grip. Handlebar-mounted controls are easily manipulated once familiar with the operation of each, but not quite as intuitive as BMW’s class-leading scroll wheel.

The Boom! Box 4.3 infotainment system comes over loud and clear, even at freeway speeds, with radio reception that’ll make cell phones cry. The full-color interface is attractive, but direct sunlight turns it into a black hole of information. Riding westward with the rising sun to my back had me guessing what radio station I was tuning in to. Thankfully, the white-faced speedo and tach are of the analog variety and legible no matter what the sun’s doing.

2015 harley davidson road glide first ride review video, The Road Glide is comfortable two up for short periods As is the passenger seat which while well padded is narrow and has downward slope My co tester by marriage Maria kept having to riggle forward lest she be sliding down the rear fender
The Road Glide is comfortable two-up for short periods. As is, the passenger seat, which, while well-padded, is narrow and has downward slope. My co-tester-by-marriage, Maria, kept having to riggle forward lest she be sliding down the rear fender.

At a claimed 849 pounds fueled, the Road Glide is no ballerina. The bike’s weight and balance remain in complementary accord until a wheel turned too sharply unleashes its heft. Then, as you slam your foot to the ground to help prop up 949 pounds (passenger included) of teetering mass, you realize that next time you’ll let the bike fall over – it’ll scratch the chrome on the crash bar, but it’s better than a tweaked ankle.

Ridden within its design parameters, the RG rewards its pilot with confident, competent handling. Pushed outside its comfort zone and you’ll quickly use up the rear shock’s two inches of travel, bottom out a hard part and begin looking for a safe exit route, if you’re not already sliding and sparking. From what we’re told, only moto-journalists, with their need to push the limits on everything they swing a leg over, will experience these performance restrictions. So, if you find yourself dragging a chrome exhaust pipe through a long sweeper, send us your resume.

2015 harley davidson road glide first ride review video, Ser Samsquamsh in the comments section of the Road Glide Preview says the Road Glide s new headlights resemble Bender from Futurama Regardless their looks they light up the night According to Harley 85 more spread and 6 more punch on low beam 35 more spread and 45 more punch on high beam
Ser Samsquamsh, in the comments section of the Road Glide Preview, says the Road Glide’s new headlights resemble Bender, from Futurama. Regardless their looks, they light up the night. According to Harley: 85% more spread and 6% more punch on low beam, 35% more spread and 45% more punch on high beam.

Getting back to the Road Glide’s signature fairing, the triple splitstream fairing vents are a wondrous improvement. The job of the top vent is to reduce helmet buffeting and it takes this task seriously. We have no complaints of excessive or even mildly disruptive airflow common with fairings of the Road Glide’s proportions.

It’s those two, voluminous fairing gills that really grabbed our attention. Located at high-pressure points on either side of the headlights, the ducts, once opened, act like ram-air intakes, only instead of going into the airbox to feed the throttle bodies, the blast is directed at your chest, providing a climatizing airflow during a muggy ride. Each vent is manually closed via a mechanical switch inside the duct. Manipulating the right duct entails reaching your left hand to the fairing’s far side when in motion. Proceed with caution when attempting, or pull over and do it the safe way.

+ Highs

  • Distinctive
  • Comfy rider triangle
  • Simple saddlebag accessibility

– Sighs

  • Heavy
  • Limited rear suspension travel
  • ABS should be included in base model price

Another Project Rushmore upgrade comes in the form of revised saddlebag lids and locks. Identical in style to previous Road Glide bags, the new single-switch opening mechanism makes for easy ingress/egress – an attribute unattributed to previous H-D hard bags. The saddlebags are easily removable via two quarter-turn fasteners, exposing the rear adjustable air-ride shocks. Included bag liners would be nice.

2015 harley davidson road glide first ride review video, Our base model test unit was equipped with the optional Reflex Linked ABS brakes 795 Standard on both model Road Glides is cruise control
Our base model test unit was equipped with the optional Reflex Linked ABS brakes ($795). Standard on both model Road Glides is cruise control.

At $20,899 for Vivid Black, the 2015 Road Glide, with all its Project Rushmore improvements, retails for $1,100 more than a 2013 Road Glide Custom. Other base model colors retail for $21,399. Optional on the base model Glide is Reflex Linked ABS brakes ($795) and a security system ($395).

Or, you can choose to go with the Road Glide special; $23,199 for Vivid Black and $23,699 for other color choices. The Special includes ABS and the security system and sweetens the pot by also including the larger, premium Boom! Box 6.5GT infotainment system with touch screen and GPS navigation, and hand-adjustable low-profile rear suspension. The Special also receives exclusive painted inner fairing and hand-applied pinstriping.

If you weren’t at Sturgis or the National Bikers Roundup in Tulsa, to see the new Road Glide in person, or, better yet, take one for a test ride, the new model is scheduled to arrive in dealerships beginning August 26.

2015 harley davidson road glide first ride review video, We conducted a shootout between Kawasaki s Vulcan 1700 Vaquero and H D s Road Glide a few years ago Both have frame mounted upper fairings but the Vaquero s swoopy lines and fairing lowers shrouding the liquid cooled motor s radiator present an altogether different looking bike compared to the Road Glide
We conducted a shootout between Kawasaki’s Vulcan 1700 Vaquero and H-D’s Road Glide a few years ago. Both have frame-mounted upper fairings, but the Vaquero’s swoopy lines and fairing lowers (shrouding the liquid-cooled motor’s radiator) present an altogether different-looking bike compared to the Road Glide.

2015 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Specifications

MSRP$20,899/$23,399
Engine Capacity103.1 cu. in. / 1690 cc
Engine TypeAir-cooled, High Output Twin Cam 103 with integrated oil-cooler
Bore x Stroke98.4 mm x 111.1 mm
Compression9.7:1
Fuel SystemElectronic Sequential Port Fuel Injection (ESPFI)
Transmission6-speed Cruise Drive
Final DriveBelt
FrameMild steel; tubular frame; two-piece stamped and welded backbone; cast and forged
junctions; twin downtubes; bolt-on rear frame with forged fender supports; MIG welded
Front Suspension49 mm telescopic fork
Rear SuspensionAir-adjustable low profile twin shocks
Front Brakes32 mm, 4-piston calipers and dual floating rotors
Rear Brakes32 mm, 4-piston caliper and single rotor
Front TireD408F 130/60B19 61H
Rear TireD407T BW 180/65B16 81H
Seat Height27.4 inches
Wheelbase64 inches
Rake/Trail26°/6.8 inches
Curb Weight849 pounds
Fuel Capacity6 gal.
Observed MPG39
Tom Roderick
Tom Roderick

More by Tom Roderick

Comments
Join the conversation
2 of 30 comments
  • Tom Lahey Tom Lahey on Sep 08, 2014

    Got mine ordered and should be here soon!

  • Magnum Magnum on Sep 14, 2014

    Magnum
    I rode the new 2015 Road Glide as soon as the mechanic built and test rode it. Here are my findings. The newly designed shark nose fairing worked great. Cut through the wind and no buffeting. The front suspension was okay. That being said here are the downfalls. The rear suspension is a back breaker. Not a touring bike at all. The wireless throttle was way to sensitive. Terrible for stop and go traffic situations. Was not impressed with the sterio. I could not hear it while riding in traffic. Personally I feel the wheel base is too short as well. Harley Davidson needs to go back to the drawing board on this one. Very disappointed.

Next