Isle of Man TT 2014: Monster Supersport TT 2 Results

Dennis Chung
by Dennis Chung

Michael Dunlop led from start to finish to win the second Supersport TT race, giving him 10 TT victories in his career, tying him with the likes of Giacomo Agostini. Dunlop also joins sidecar racer Robert Fisher, Ian Lougher and Stanley Woods with 10 wins apiece, all tied for seventh overall on the all-time wins list.

Riding his MD Racing Honda CBR600RR, Dunlop got off to a strong start, recording a time of 17:55.817 on the opening lap, giving him a 4.6-second advantage over fellow Honda rider Bruce Anstey.

Anstey started the time trial ten seconds before Dunlop, and by the second lap, the two were running neck and neck, with Dunlop overcoming that ten-second head start. Dunlop thus only had to stay with Anstey for the rest of the race to ensure victory. Remember, in the Isle of Man TT, it’s not who crosses the finish first but who has the overall fastest time that wins.

And that’s how the two went up until the final stretch when Anstey, knowing victory was out of reach, eased off in a show of good sportsmanship to allow Dunlop to cross the finish line first. Dunlop’s older brother William finished third on his Tyco Suzuki GSX-R600.

2014 Isle of Man TT: Supersport TT 2 Top Five Results




Michael DunlopMD Racing Honda1:12:23.794125.078 mph


Bruce AnsteyValvoline Racing Honda1:12:33.883124.788 mph


William DunlopTyco Suzuki1:12:47.678124.394 mph


Dean HarrisonMartrain Yamaha1:13:03.459123.946 mph


James HillierQuatrro Plant Muc-Off Kawasaki1:13:37.712122.985 mph


Dennis Chung
Dennis Chung

Dennis has been a part of the team since 2008, and through his tenure, has developed a firm grasp of industry trends, and a solid sense of what's to come. A bloodhound when it comes to tracking information on new motorcycles, if there's a new model on the horizon, you'll probably hear about it from him first.

More by Dennis Chung

Join the conversation