Spies seeks record winning streak

Suzuki rider enters Road America with six wins in a row

By Motorcycle.Com Staff, Jun. 06, 2008
Ben Spies will look to set a new record by winning his seventh AMA Superbike race in a row at Road America in Elkhart Lake, Wis. June 8.

The Longview, Tex. native has won six races in a row, most recently pulling off the double at Miller Motorsports Park on June 1.

This is Spies’ second six-race winning streak; he also won six in a row in the 2006 season. Spies is the first rider to accomplish the feat twice. Only Miguel Duhamel (1995) and Spies’ Suzuki teammate Mat Mladin (2007) have won six AMA Superbike races in succession.

Spies may not have another chance at setting the record as he is looking towards making the jump to MotoGP next year. Spies has already been confirmed to join Suzuki’s factory team alongside Loris Capirossi and Chris Vermeulen at the Grand Prix series’ two stops on American soil this season at Laguna Seca and Indianapolis.

Ironically, Mladin is expected to the biggest obstacle to Spies’ attempt at the record. Mladin is coming off a disappointing (by his standards) weekend at Miller Motorsports Park, failing to reach the podium in either race at the Utah-track. After winning the first three races of the year, Mladin was the runner-up in the first four races of Spies’ streak.

Mladin may yet turn things around however, as he has history on his side. Mladin has seven career wins at Road America including a victory in 2006 that ended Spies’ previous record winning streak.

Mladin’s set-back in Utah may have also given a much-needed confidence boost to Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Jamie Hacking and Honda’s Neil Hodgson. Hacking earned a pair of second place finishes at Miller Motorsports Park while Hodgson finished third in both races.

Both racers have improved as the season progressed, and a successful weekend in Elkhart Lake could place them close to Spies and Mladin in the point standings.

AMA Superbike top five standings after nine races:

Pos. Rider Bike Points
1. Ben Spies Suzuki GSX-R1000 308
2. Mat Mladin Suzuki GSX-R1000 269
3. Neil Hodgson CBR1000RR 239
4. Jamie Haking Kawasaki ZX-10R 234
5. Jason DiSalvo Yamaha ZXF-R1 222