Solis, Gillim in MotoGP Rookies Cup

American teens to continue their development with MotoGP tour

By Motorcycle.Com Staff, Nov. 10, 2008, Photography by GEPA Pictures
Benny Solis and Hayden Gillim will develop their emerging talents overseas in the 2009 Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup.

Solis, from North Hollywood, Calif. and Gillim, from Owensboro, Ky. were named to the 2009 MotoGP Rookies provisional entry list. Fellow 2008 AMA U.S. Rookies Cup rider Leandro Mercado has also been penciled into the 2009 MotoGP Rookies season, though his entry has yet to be confirmed. The three teens finished 1-2-3, respectively in the inaugural AMA U.S. Rookies Cup.

The three AMA U.S. Rookies Cup graduates will compete in select MotoGP race weekends along with other top riding talents from around the world, including 13 riders who competed in the 2008 MotoGP Rookies Cup. An additional nine riders were selected from a field of 32 riders at a selection event at the Algrave circuit in Portimao, Portugal.

Riders try out for the 2009 MotoGP Rookies Cup. Arthur Sissis (right) made the cut.Gillim and Solis will try to follow in the racing line of 2008 MotoGP Rookies Cup Champion and fellow American JD Beach. Gillim, of course, should be familiar with following the success of others; the teenaged racer is a cousin of the racing Hayden brothers including 2006 MotoGP Champion Nicky Hayden.

2009 MotoGP Rookies Cup Provisional Entry List

  • Robin Barbosa (France)
  • Brad Binder (South Africa)
  • Deane Brown (Great Britain)
  • Kevin Calia (Italy)
  • Alessio Cappella (Italy/Nigeria)
  • Xavier Figueiras (Spain)
  • Hayden Gillim (U.S.A.)
  • Daijiro Hiura (Japan)
  • Taylor Mackenzie (Great Britain)
  • Nelson Major (France)
  • Florian Marino (France)
  • Dylan Mavin (Australia)
  • Leandro Mercado (Argentina)*
  • Jakub Kornfeil (Czech Republic)
  • Alexander Kristiansson (Sweden)
  • Manuel Pardo (Italy)
  • Alex Rins (Spain)
  • Fraser Rogers (Great Britain)
  • Daniel Ruiz (Spain)
  • Mathew Scholtz (South Africa)
  • Arthur Sissis (Australia)
  • Benny Solis (U.S.A.)
  • Harry Stafford (Great Britain)
  • Nico Thöni (Austria)

    *To be confirmed