Reed wins 2008 SX title

Victory in Las Vegas cinches second championship

By Motorcycle.Com Staff, May. 05, 2008
Chad Reed won the 2008 AMA Supercross championship by claiming his ninth victory of the season on May 3 in Las Vegas, NV before a crowd of 39,227 spectators.

San Manuel Yamaha’s Reed, still feeling the effects of a broken shoulder blade, entered the weekend with a ten-point lead over Torco Race Fuels Honda rival Kevin Windham. Reed needed at least a sixth-place finish to clinch the title, but when he saw a chance for the win, he took it.

“I didn’t really think about winning until I saw that Kevin [Windham] wasn’t really riding away,”says Reed. “I didn’t know what he was doing, or what his game plan was, but I felt really confident from the Heat race that I had a lot more speed than him. It seemed like any time, I could just pull up right alongside of him, and I was stronger in the whoops. Then we made some changes to the bike to make it easier on me, and I just came out in the main event and knew I could ride a fast pace if I had to.”Chad Reed raises his trophy with the Team San Manuel Yamaha crew.

Reed started the race in seventh, while Windham began in second. By the third lap, Windham assumed the lead by passing the Holeshot award winner, Davi Millsap of Red Bull Honda. Meanwhile, Reed worked his way through the pack until breaking ahead and passing Windham on lap thirteen. He would hold on to beat Windham by more than six seconds.

With the win, Reed claims his second Supercross championship. He also won the title in 2004.

Reed’s mechanic, Oscar Wirdeman, was also named the season’s top mechanic and was awarded a 2008 Toyota Tundra truck.

In Supercross Lite action, Ryan Dungey of Rockstar Makita Suzuki finished almost five seconds ahead of Ryan Villopoto of Monster Energy Kawasaki for the win.

The Holeshot winner, Villopoto led from the start until Dungey made a pass on the final lap.

Many of the teams and riders will be back in action on May 25 when they switch gears and start the 2008 Motocross season in San Bernardino, Calif. at the Glen Helen Raceway Park.

Final AMA Supercross Top Ten standings

Pos. Rider Manufacturer Points
1. Chad Reed Yamaha 365
2. Kevin Windham Honda 352
3. Andrew Short Honda 281
4. Davi Millsaps Honda 278
5. Josh Hill Yamaha 228
6. Tim Ferry Kawasaki 217
7. Nathan Ramsey Yamaha 173
8. David Vuillemin Suzuki 169
9. Nicholas Wey KTM 159
10. Charles Summey Yamaha 144