Preliminary 2011 WSBK Calendar Released

Superbikes return to Miller for Memorial Day

By Motorcycle.Com Staff, Oct. 08, 2010
The International Motorcycling Federation has released a provisional 2011 World Superbike Championship calendar.

The 2011 WSBK schedule will have 13 rounds, though two remain to be been finalized. The season begins Feb. 27, 2011, at Australia’s Phillip Island circuit and runs until Oct. 16 at Portimao, Portugal.

The series returns to the U.S. at Utah’s Miller Motorsport Park on May 30, 2011 for another Memorial Day Monday of racing.

Most of the schedule is similar to the 2010 calendar, but there are some differences. Portimao has been moved back to the end of the schedule as it was prior to this season. The new Motorland Aragon circuit in Spain will make its WSBK debut June 19 while South Africa’s Kyalami circuit has been dropped. The Guanteng provincial government in South Africa paid a $16.8 million fee to opt out of the final three years of its contract to host WSBK at Kyalami.

The two dates awaiting confirmation are listed for March 27 in Europe and Sept. 25 in Italy. The yet-to-be-named European track will replace Spain’s Valencia Circuit while the Italian round will likely be at Imola.

The Provisional 2011 WSBK Championship Schedule:

  • February 27 Australia Phillip Island
  • March 27 Europe t.b.a
  • April 17 The Netherlands Assen
  • May 8 Italy Monza
  • May 30 (Monday) United States Miller Motorsport Park
  • June 12 San Marino Misano
  • June 19 Spain Motorland Aragon
  • July 10 Czech Republic Brno
  • July 31 Great Britain Silverstone
  • September 4 Germany Nurburgring
  • September 25 Italy t.b.a
  • October 2 France Magny Cours
  • October 16 Portugal Portimao