New Championships for Isle of Man TT

Awards recognize top riders and manufacturers

By Motorcycle.Com Staff, Dec. 01, 2008
The 2009 Isle of Man TT will feature a new points-based championship format.

Organizers of the legendary time-trial race through public streets on the Isle of Man announced the new format at the International Motorcycle and Scooter Show in Birmingham, England. Points will be awarded to the top 15 riders in the 2009 Tourist Trophy’s Superbike, Scottish Life International Superstock, Relentless Supersport and Senior TT races. Manufacturers will also earn championship points for their results.

“The idea behind these awards is to build the excitement of the TT throughout the week, with an overall leaderboard calculated after every race,” says Martyn Quayle, Tourism and Leisure Minister for the Isle of Man. “The award will also recognize the riders and manufacturers who have performed consistently throughout the week.”

The rider with the highest point total from all races on the Mountain Circuit will win the Joey Dunlop TT Championship Trophy and an award of £10,000 (US$14,877). The Championship Trophy is named for Joey “King of the Road” Dunlop, who holds the record for most Isle of Man TT race wins with 26.

A similar trophy and other prizes will be awarded to the top-performing sidecar crews. Separate manufacturer awards will be given for both solo and sidecar categories.

One manufacturer has already stepped up to the challenge.

“These awards are a great initiative and I’m sure will be fiercely contested,” says Philip Neil, manager of the Relentless Suzuki by TAS Racing Team. “Everyone at Relentless Suzuki by TAS Racing will be doing all we can to win the awards.”

The 2009 Isle of Man TT will be held May 30 to June 12.

Related Reading
Isle of Man TT 2008 Wrap-up