Long Way Down: the soundtrack

Album arrives as series premieres in America

By Motorcycle.Com Staff, Jul. 31, 2008
EMI America Records is releasing the official soundtrack to the motorcycle adventure series Long Way Down as the documentary makes its American television debut.

Staring actors and motorcycle enthusiasts Ewan McGregor and Charley Boorman, Long Way Down premieres Aug. 2 on Fox Reality Channel. The ten-part series originally aired on the BBC in 2007 as the follow-up to 2004’s Long Way Round.

The Long Way Down soundtrack features several world-renowned artists.The official soundtrack, which includes 15 songs featured in the series, will be available on CD and digitally on Aug. 5. The soundtrack for Long Way Down was previously released in the United Kingdom in December 2007.

Unlike the soundtrack to Long Way Round, which featured British musical acts such as Coldplay, Radiohead, Massive Attack and Blur, the soundtrack for Long Way Down features world-renowned musicians from the various cultures the duo encountered on their 85-day journey from Scotland to South Africa.

The Long Way Down soundtrack features the following 15 tracks:

  • “Somalia Don’t Shame Yourself” by Maryam Mursal
  • “Ye Ye Ye” by Geoffrey Oryema
  • “Shadowman” by Afro Celt Sound System
  • “Exhausted” by Joseph Arthur
  • “Blink” by Ben Onono
  • “Dodoma” by Remmy Ongala & Orchestre Super Matimila
  • “Soudan Minitara (Bombastic Mix)” by Hassan Hakmoun & Zahar 
  • “The Gospel” by The Boxer Rebellion
  • “Take Care” by Maryam Mursal
  • “Madruzi Nemarudzi” by Thomas Mapfumo & The Blacks Unlimited
  • “Sisitizo La Amani Duniani” by Hukwe Zawose
  • “The Bedbugs Bite” by Zawose & Brook
  • “Makambo” by Geoffrey Oryema
  • “Onwards” by Afro Celt Sound System
  • “The River” by Geoffrey Oryema

For complete American television listings for Long Way Down, visit http://www.foxreality.com/longwaydown/.

Related Reading
Special Long Way Down cut hits cinemas