Email a friend
Print Friendly

FIM e-Power Le Mans entry list released

Only six teams signed up, even with a cash incentive

By Motorcycle.Com Staff, Apr. 13, 2010
The International Federation of Motorcycling has released the entry list for its first e-Power electric race, but the size of the grid does not bode well for the future of zero emission motorcycle racing.

Set to take place April 16 ahead of the 24 Hours of Le Mans World Endurance Championship race in Sarthe, France, the official entry list has six entries and five teams. With six entries, the e-Power series will have fewer participants than the rival TTXGP and possibly also the Isle of Man’s TT Zero.

The small number of entries is especially troubling considering the FIM had waived the entry fee to the e-Power series. Embarrassingly, the FIM also previously announced a 1,000 euro “participation allowance” for the first 16 riders in the qualifying practice for the Le Mans race.

The TTXGP has at least ten teams confirmed including Zero Motorcycles, Mission Motors and Team Agni, the winner of the 2009 TTXGP race. Several teams have agreed to race exclusively with the TTXGP. The TTXGP’s entry list may be diluted however as the confirmed entries are scattered across three separate series in North America, the United Kingdom and Italy. It’s not yet clear how many teams will take part in each series.

The entry deadline for the TT Zero was also March 26 but Isle of Man TT organizers have yet to release its official entry list. At least five teams have previously confirmed they will race in the TT Zero including MotoCzysz and Team Agni, though more may be revealed when the official entry list is announced.

By comparison, the 2009 TTXGP zero emission race on the Isle of Man, a collaborative effort between the all three organizations had 24 entries.

The FIM e-Power International Championship Le Mans Entry List
No. Rider Nation Team Machine
17 Christian Amendt Germany Honda
22 Thijs De Ridder Belgium DR Motors
38 Luciano Betti Italy Betti Moto Betti Moto
48 Reiner Kopp USA Munch Racing Laverda
61 Harald Gasse Germany Peace-E-Rider Innoscooter
115 Thomas Betti Italy Betti Moto Betti Moto