AMA-SX: 2010 Anaheim III results

Ryan Villopoto earned his second win of the season

By Motorcycle.Com Staff, Feb. 16, 2010
Ryan Villopoto earned his second win of the season, putting him within three points of the 2010 AMA Supercross championship lead.

The Monster Energy Kawasaki rider took the early lead with the holeshot never gave it up, handily winning Anaheim III in Angel Stadium.

It was great to get the start Ive been looking for, says Villopoto. Getting the holeshot was key tonight. Getting out front early let me put in 20 solid laps and win the race without tasting any roost.

Finishing over four seconds behind was San Manuel Yamahas Josh Hill for his fourth consecutive second-place finish. Though he would have preferred a win, second place was enough to put Hill into a tie with Ryan Dungey for the lead in the championship standings with 123 points.

Ryan Dungey and the other racers wore pink gear to raise awareness for breast cancer.

Im honestly starting to get sick of second place, but Ryan (Villopoto) rode well tonight and the track was sketchy, says Hill. I just tried to ride smart. I had to protect my lines from Windham for a while, too, and Ryan got away. I do better on the eastern tracks sometimes, so hopefully I can get a win next week.

Geico Powersports Honda racer Kevin Windham finished third, beating out Rockstar Makita Suzukis Dungey for the final podium position. Dungey was able to hang onto the championship lead (his two wins give him the edge over Hill) but his team manager Roger DeCoster says the team needs to be better prepared.

(Dungey) was a little hesitant today in his riding, says DeCoster. I think we need to do a better job of adjusting the bike earlier in the day. We cannot back ourselves into the Main Event making changes.

With last seasons four top finishers out of action with various injuries, the 2010 championship is up for grabs. Even early in the 2009 season, it was clear the championship would be to a two-man race between James Stewart and Chad Reed, but in their absence, three riders are separated by just three points on top of the 2010 standings, with several more without shooting distance.

The 2010 AMA Supercross Championship continues Feb. 20 at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis.

2010 AMA Supercross: Anaheim III Results
450 Supercross Results   450 Series Point Standings
1. Ryan Villopoto
2. Josh Hill
3. Kevin Windham
4. Ryan Dungey
5. Davi Millsaps
6. Justin Brayton
7. Kyle Chisholm
8. Michael Byrne
9. Dan Reardon
10. Nick Wey
1. Ryan Dungey
2. Josh Hill
3. Ryan Villopoto
4. Davi Millsaps
5. Ivan Tedesco
6. Justin Brayton
7. Kevin Windham
8. Andrew Short
9. Nick Wey
10. Thomas Hahn


Related Reading
Top four 2009 AMA-SX racers all injured