2009 US ISDE teams named

Weigand replaces injured Woods

By Motorcycle.Com Staff, Jul. 02, 2009
The American Motorcyclist Association has announced the final roster for the American entries to the 2009 International Six Days Enduro, Oct. 12-17 in Figueria da Foz, Portugal.

Timmy Weigand has been named to the U.S. World Trophy Team to replace Nathan Woods who was injured in a World Off-Road Championship Series race. Weigand, who races WORCS for the Johnny Campbell Racing team, will join the five previously announced members of the U.S. World Trophy Team, Destry Abbott, Kurt Caselli, Ricky Dietrich, Jimmy Jarrett and Nathan Kanney. Those five racers, along with Woods, formed the US. team that raced to third overall at the 2008 ISDE.

Kurt called me a week and a half ago and said I was in the running, then Johnny (Campbell) called me the next day and said I was selected and that he would be fully supporting me, says Weigand. This is going to be a lot of hard work, but a great experience and a great time. The team is solid. We got a podium last year, and we hope to do better than that. Im the new guy, but hopefully I can ride smart. I have some good teachers in Kurt and Johnny.

Weigands first order of business is getting his bike ready for Portugal.

Ill be riding a Honda CRF250 in the E1 class, says Weigand. Right now its a mad dash to get it ready. The bike has to be on the container in Portland in two weeks. As for setup, were definitely going for reliability. The bike is going to be pretty much stock so it can last the entire six days without a ton of work. Im just happy to be going. Its great to ride for your country at a major event like the ISDE.

The US World Trophy Team placed third in the 2008 ISDE in Greece.The U.S. Junior Trophy Team will be led by five-time ISDE competitor and AMA National Hare & Hound leader David Kamo. The rest of the four-rider team includes defending AMA/Rekluse National Enduro Champion Russell Bobbitt, Grand National Cross Country racer Cory Buttrick and WORCS racer Jamie Lanza.

We have the team we wanted to have, says Kamo. Its a strong team. We have an enduro racer, a WORCS racer, a GNCC racer and a desert racer. Russell is super fast, Jamie will never give up, and Cory, as well as hes going in the GNCCs this year, he deserves to be there. As for me, Im just happy to be on the team and, honestly, I hope those guys ride so well that Im our drop-out rider. If Im the drop-out rider that just means everyone else is riding strong.

Lanza is scheduled to race the E1 class featuring 100-125cc two-strokes and 175-250cc four-strokes. Bobbitt and Buttrick will race E2, which features 175cc-250cc two-strokes and 290cc-450cc four-strokes while Kamo will race in the E3 class for 290-500cc two-stroke and 475-650cc four-stroke motorcycles.

Maria Forsberg, Mandi Mastin and Lacy Jones will form the U.S. Womens Trophy Team which finished second in last years ISDE in Greece. All three racers have ISDE experience.

I am extremely excited to be going to Portugal this year representing the United States Womens Trophy Team, says Mastin. This will be the eighth ISDE that I have competed in and the third since the Womens World Team was created. I consider it a great honor to be involved in the race and look forward to going to Portugal healthy and ready to bring home the trophy again this year. Maria proved last year in Greece that she has what it takes to compete with some of the fastest women in the world, and Lacy is also a returning member to the team with two ISDE experiences. The three of us plan on working as hard as we can to win the Womens World Trophy again this year.

Also representing the U.S.A. in Portugal are seven club teams.

Destry Abbott
Kurt Caselli
Ricky Dietrich
James Jarrett
Nathan Kanney
Timmy Weigand

Russell Bobbitt
David Kamo
Jamie Lanza
Cory Buttrick

Lacy Jones
Mandi Mastin
Maria Forsberg

JAFMAR RACING (Laura Claypoole, manager)
Jeff Fredette
Chilly White
Don Grahn

MISSOURI MUDDERS (Jay Hall, manager)
Lars Valin
Toby Atkins
Billy Burns

TONY AGONIS (Bob Agonis, manager)
Fred Hoess
Nick Fahringer
Ben Smith

Shawn OLeary
Joel Burkett
Nick Hamill

GO FASTERS.COM (Steve Berkner, manager)
Brian Sperle
Ryan Powell
Jordan Brandt

Rory Sullivan
Troy Swettenam
Zach Lipana

Brent Martell
David Booth
Garrett Mayer