2016 Ducati 959 Panigale

Editor Score: 89.0%
Engine 18.5/20
Suspension/Handling 13.5/15
Transmission/Clutch 9.0/10
Brakes 8.5/10
Instruments/Controls4.5/5
Ergonomics/Comfort 8.25/10
Appearance/Quality 9.25/10
Desirability 9.0/10
Value 8.5/10
Overall Score89/100

In the presentation for the 959, Ducati described its new bike as having “perfect balance,” which is a descriptor I immediately dismissed as pure PR speak. After all, every OEM would want to say that about one of its new products, but after having spun laps on the latest Panigale at the Ricardo Tormo MotoGP circuit, I’m becoming a believer in this Italian balancing act.

The 959 impresses for being fun and thrilling but without the occasional bits of terror like one gets from the mega Panigale 1299’s 205 crankshaft horsepower. But don’t think the little-ish Panigale is slow. It spits out 157 purported ponies, which proves to be enough to whip up 164 mph on the 959’s monochrome LCD gauges when hammering down the front straight of the Spanish circuit.

The 959 is the offshoot of the 899, which isn’t yet even old enough to enter preschool – the 899 was introduced as an all-new model just two years ago. Meanwhile, consider most 600cc Japanese sportbikes haven’t been updated since the 2000s. A 3.6mm stroke extension (to 60.8mm, the same as the 1199 Panigale) brings up capacity to 955cc. You’ll notice that’s 4cc less than the name indicates, which follows the latest trend of Ducati nomenclature for a model name to end in a numeral 9 regardless of actual displacement – the 899’s actual engine size is 898cc. New secondary showerhead injectors are employed to help boost top-end power by 6%. Torque production is flexed by 8%, now up to 79.2 lb-ft.

Get the Flash Player to see this player.

The 959 gets several handy hand-me-downs from its 1299 brother, including its revised fairing, slightly taller windscreen and updated tailsection. It also receives the 1299’s clutch and its slipper function, but with lighter springs. A slipper clutch might seem superfluous with Ducati’s adjustable Engine Brake Control electronics, but, according to Paul Ventura, Marketing Product Manager, the market had specifically asked for one. The 1299 also donates its larger (60mm) header pipes and 4mm lower swingarm pivot, the latter which results in better traction out of corners and a wheelbase 5mm longer.

Reversal of fortunes: New Euro 4 emissions regulations have resulted in this bulky stacked muffler arrangement for 959s on the Continent, while we get the much tidier under-engine canister from the 899 Panigale. Euro 4 regs also force new head and case covers, plus its timing chain, gears and guides, to further reduce noise emissions.

Reversal of fortunes: New Euro 4 emissions regulations have resulted in this bulky stacked muffler arrangement for 959s on the Continent, while we get the much tidier under-engine canister from the 899 Panigale. Euro 4 regs also force new head and case covers, plus its timing chain, gears and guides, to further reduce noise emissions.

What you won’t see are the 1299’s single-sided swingarm, Brembo M50 calipers or fancy TFT color instrumentation.The 899’s double-sided aluminum is new for 2016 to accommodate the Euro-spec mufflers, while Brembo’s M432 monoblock calipers and 10mm smaller rotors save a few lire over the 1299’s stellar M50s.

More details of millimeters in the transition from 899 to 959 can be found in this preview article, which allows me to delve quicker into the little ’gale’s riding impressions.

Riding in Lorenzo Land

112715-2016-ducati-959-panigale-_m4s3676

Spaniard Jorge Lorenzo took victory in the MotoGP race just a few weeks before I arrived in Valencia, earning himself the world championship in a controversy-filled season finale. And what a workout it must be to hammer for 30 laps aboard a 250-hp motocicleta at this diminutive Spanish bullring.

Riding Ducati’s 959 was enough of a workout for little ol’ me. Ducati says the 959’s dry weight is up quattro pounds over the 899, which we scaled at 437 lbs full of fuel when we compared it to a GSX-R750 and MV Agusta F3 800. And, of what is criticizable about the 959, its weight is one of just a few. Its class competitors are more than 10 pounds lighter.

The 959’s handling is better described as deliberate than quick. A non-adjustable steering damper is at least partly to blame for its moderate sluggishness, a condition a rider can feel even at rest. On the flip side, the 959 boasts unflappable stability, allowing its pilot to rail through high-speed corners with confidence the rail continues to – and through – the apex, even under full power.

Trainspotter types will notice shorter mirror stalks and a wider nose with air intakes in the outboard edges next to the headlights like the 1299. Rider types will notice the surefooted grip from the machined billet footpegs that are a welcome upgrade from the 899’s slippery footrests.

Trainspotter types will notice shorter mirror stalks and a wider nose with air intakes in the outboard edges next to the headlights like the 1299. Rider types will notice the surefooted grip from the machined billet footpegs that are a welcome upgrade from the 899’s slippery footrests.

Speaking of power, there is plenty. Crucially, midrange grunt is more abundant than in its predecessor, the 899, which was so peaky as to be un-V-Twin-like. The 959’s powerband fills in many of the irksome holes, re-engaging the torque-rich power spread that have earned Ducati engines their lovable reputation over the decades.

The 899’s engine felt obscenely flaccid for a V-Twin below 8000 rpm, and while the 959 still likes to run for its redline (10,500 rpm), its midrange has been invigorated. Ducati says the 959’s torque-to-weight ratio is up 4%, enabling some fun second-gear clutch wheelies at the track.

Electronic rider aids make up a big part of the 959’s riding experience – they’re plentiful and excellent. Ride modes of Wet, Sport and Race are programmed with appropriate traction control (DTC), ABS and engine-brake control (EBC) to suit the intended use; each can be customized to suit rider preferences.

Double vision, if you look closely.

Double vision, if you look closely.

We started the day in Sport mode, which offers smooth throttle application and – in its default settings – a lower threshold before ABS and traction-control interventions. They didn’t intrude much until the pace picked up to A-group trackday levels, when ABS kicked in over the braking bumps entering Turn 1. DTC intervention wasn’t overtly intrusive in its fifth of eight levels.

Switching to Race mode made the electronic aids almost invisible. ABS is still in play, but its threshold is much higher, and rear-lift mitigation is turned off. Meanwhile, DTC 3 allows some rear drifting before softly reining it back. Throttle response in Race mode is sharper but not too abrupt.

The Panigale’s cockpit is fairly accommodating for an ultra-sporty bike. The hump for the passenger seat is appreciated when accelerating at full throttle in the lower gears.

The Panigale’s cockpit is fairly accommodating for an ultra-sporty bike. The hump for the passenger seat is appreciated when accelerating at full throttle in the lower gears.

Exiting Valencia’s last corner is a good place to begin describing how the electronics work in a rider’s favor. While DTC is warding off highsides in second gear, the standard quickshifter clicks upshifts at full throttle and without the use of a clutch lever. Red shift lights at the top of the gauge pack look like devil horns as they signal the perfect time to prod the shifter and spur you on to higher speeds.

Turn 1 approaches at more than 160 mph in sixth gear. ABS keeps the front end from locking even as the rear tire is dancing above the track’s surface. The Brembos are reasonably powerful, but they’re a little soft when compared to the bite from the 1299’s ferocious M50 setup.

Showa’s Big Piston Fork being put to the test at Valencia. The BPF design is lighter than a traditional inverted fork and does a fine job of controlling damping during low-speed events such as when braking.

Showa’s Big Piston Fork being put to the test at Valencia. The BPF design is lighter than a traditional inverted fork and does a fine job of controlling damping during low-speed events such as when braking.

The new slipper clutch dramatically eases downshifts, even if a rider is sloppy or lazy with blipping the throttle for the three ratios dropped entering the 100-mph Turn 1. But it’s the EBC that most impressed me. EBC 1 has the most engine braking, and I found it made corner entries less smooth than ideal. A click to EBC 2 made a fairly dramatic improvement to calm entries, and the maximum of EBC 3 suited me perfectly. It’s quite a treat to be able to tune a powertrain as finely as this with just a few presses of buttons. I can imagine an era when forms of EBC make the added weight and cost of slipper clutches obsolete.

Conclusion

Anyone who knows me understands that I’m a rider who enjoys power, and I’ve been known to say that I’d enjoy any motorcycle to a greater extent with 10% more power. Well, that assertion might be fading. I’m claiming here that I might – perhaps, maybe – prefer to be on the 959 Panigale at a tighter track like Valencia than the 1299 version. There’s a deep satisfaction in being able to hold a throttle pinned for more than a few seconds, and the 959 strikes an enviable balance between a moderately fast bike and a scarily fast bike.

The Arctic White Silk version seen in these photos adds a $300 premium over traditional Ducati Red.

The Arctic White Silk version seen in these photos adds a $300 premium over traditional Ducati Red.

It’s difficult to imagine a $14,995 Italian sportbike being a strong value, but it would be easy to convince an 899 owner it’s a bargain. The 959 offers considerably more power and some better hardware for the exact same MSRP as the 899.

The 959 Panigale looks almost identical to a 1299 Panigale, which is one of the sexiest sportbikes on the market but costs many thousands of dollars extra. And only the hardest of hardcore riders would be wanting for more power. I’d say Ducati has struck the perfect balance it was intending.

2016 Ducati 959 Panigale
+ Highs

  • Italian supermodel looks
  • Excellent electronics
  • Bargain priced in a strange way
– Sighs

  • Kinda heavy
  • All Brembos aren’t created equally
  • $15k still ain’t cheap

112715-2016-ducati-959-panigale-as3y1403

2016 Ducati 959 Panigale Specifications
MSRP $14,995
Engine Type Superquadro: L-twin cylinder, 4 valve per cylinder, Desmodromic,
liquid cooled
Bore and stroke 100.0 x 60.8 mm
Capacity 955 cc
Horsepower (claimed) 157 hp at 10,500 rpm
Torque (claimed) 79.2 lb-ft at 9,000 rpm
Fuel system Mitsubishi electronic fuel injection system. Twin injectors per
cylinder. Full Ride-by-Wire elliptical throttle bodies
Exhaust 2-1-2 system with catalytic converter and 2 lambda probes.
Stainless steel pre-silencer + twin aluminium side mufflers**
Clutch Slipper and self-servo wet multiplate clutch with hydraulic control
Transmission 6-speed with Ducati Quick Shift
Final Drive Chain; Front sprocket 15; Rear sprocket 43
Chassis Monocoque aluminum
Front Suspension Fully adjustable Showa BPF fork. 43 mm chromed inner tubes; 120mm travel
Rear Suspension Fully adjustable Sachs unit. Aluminum double-sided swingarm; 130mm of travel
Front Brakes Dual 320 mm semi-floating discs, radially mounted Brembo
monobloc M4.32 4-piston callipers, with Bosch ABS as standard
Rear brake 245 mm disc, 2-piston calliper, with Bosch ABS as standard
Front Wheel 10-spoke light alloy 3.5”x17”
Rear Wheel 10-spoke light alloy 5.50” x 17”
Front Tire Pirelli Diablo Rosso Corsa 120/70 ZR17
Rear Tire Pirelli Diablo Rosso Corsa 180/60 ZR17
Saddle height 32.5 inches
Rake 24°
Trail 96mm (3.78 in.)
Wheelbase 65.3 in.
Curb Weight (claimed, US-spec) 430 lbs
Fuel Capacity 4.5 gallons
Electronics DTC, DQS, EBC, Riding Modes, Power Modes, R-b-W
Warranty Two-year unlimited mileage
Optional Equipment DDA+ with GPS-ready
Color Options Ducati Red, Arctic White Silk (+$300)

Free Insurance Quote

Enter your ZIP code below to get a free insurance quote.

Ducati Dealer Price Quote

Get price quotes for Ducati 848 from local motorcycle dealers.

Ducati Communities

  • john phyyt

    Photo of Duc and rider with front tyre pinned to the track ; forks showing a bare slice of remaining tube ; rider straiining and back end threatening , but not actually, skipping with the whole motorcycle seemingly compressed front to rear: Brilliant.
    Kudos to rider and snapper

  • Y.A.

    I am surprised they didn’t go for 916 or 996ccs just to bring everything full circle. In any case, with 30-40 more HP than those bikes I don’t think it’s fair to call this the “baby” superbike. It’s more now like the the 1299 has gone fully mental, putting down nearly double the HP of the OG 916 with only ~40% more displacement. The golden age of the sport bike is here.

  • Old MOron

    Nice review, Kevin. I’ve never been interested in riding speed bikes on public roads, but you’re making me miss my (brief) club racing days. I don’t want to spend that kind of money, though, so maybe just some track days. We’ll see what El Niño brings.

  • mavricxx

    It’s a shame Ducati has crappy color schemes.

    • Superlight

      Excuse me! Ducati has some of the best designs and colorways in the market, especially on their sport bikes. Compare this 959 to the new ZX-10R or the R1 next to one another. The Ducati rules in design and colors offered.

      • bobplugh

        But no black :(

        I do love the Kawasaki Green though. I have an original 1976 KZ900 and I’m going to get everything repainted original.

  • Shlomi

    So now you can compare Ducati to litre Japanese bikes. The Duc cost the same as R1S, CBR1000RR, Suzuki GSXR, and Kawasaki. The baby Panigale is officially litre bike. The big Panigale is on separate league and should only compared with $25K bikes such as R1M, Aprilia RF, etc.

    • Terry Ruddy

      I’ve never compared my Ducs to any of the Japanese sports bikes, though their performance is often statistically superior. It still seems very apples to oranges. It’s Italian and you ride it because you love it … and hope that occasionally it loves you in return.

    • Superlight

      The base 1299 Pani costs $19,795, which is a few grand more than an R1 at $16,490. I guess you have to decide, in that case, whether Italian design expertise trumps superior Japanese electronics execution. This 959 Pani compares, price-wise, with the R1-S at $14,990 and involves the same sort of trade-off. Both great machines. What is most important to you?

  • Alan Taylor

    The bike is perfect i have the money to buy one and all the leathers but I’m genuinely stopped in my tracks and stuck because of that bloody awful shotgun exhaust. Why oh why do these things happen to me??? No way I’m paying thousands to change it to underbelly from here on just not worth it!! So now I’m looking at another bike i guess!@£$%&^%$ ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh Help me anyone…

  • Bryan Hallman

    Will you be doing any testing of this bike in California soon? I would like to know how it stacks up in the canyons.

    • Kevin Duke

      We will indeed!

  • bobplugh

    No Black available? Why not?