Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Manufacturer Forums > Yamaha

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-19-2008, 09:29 PM   #1
aceme2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ozark MO
Posts: 2
Default R6 will not start

My sons r6 got stolen. When we got it back the tank lock was out the ignition switch cut out and hot wired. we brought a complete lock set. new switch has power in and out of the white conector but red conector has none. i am thinking bad switch but i do not want to buy again. bike is now on salvage title and in MO everything has to work so i can not just ground the two wire because the nerutal light stays on. wiring diagram does not show which is hot. can someone help me out. thank you

Last edited by aceme2 : 10-19-2008 at 09:31 PM. Reason: gramer
aceme2 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 10-19-2008, 10:16 PM   #2
The_AirHawk
Founding Member
 
The_AirHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Leanin' Tower O' P-P-P-P-POWAAAAAAAAA!!!!
Posts: 11,491
Default

Just to eliminate the most-obvious; you have checked for continuity/power through the killswitch on the right bar, and for all your fuses, yes?

Where in MO are you located?
__________________
Parfois, on fait pas semblant
Sometimes, it's not pretend
Oderint Dum Metuant
Let them hate so long as they fear
политики предпочитают безоружных крестьян
Politicians Prefer Unarmed Peasants
Nothing to see here, Citizen. Move along now...
The_AirHawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2008, 01:27 PM   #3
aceme2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ozark MO
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_AirHawk View Post
Just to eliminate the most-obvious; you have checked for continuity/power through the killswitch on the right bar, and for all your fuses, yes?

Where in MO are you located?
yes. checked all fuses. bike only cranks and starts when kill switch is on so i did not test any more than that. my guess on the wire would be that power should run to the bike control module and ground would be to the safty switches. if the bike wireing diagram showed the break down of the switch i would know for sure.
aceme2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off