Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle Riding > Women Riders

Old 12-25-2010, 03:33 PM   #1
Patrycja
Registered Member

Question Bike Maintenance

Hey,

I'm new to biking. About a month ago I got endorsed and bought my first sports bike - 2006 Ninja EX500.

I wonder - how did/do you learn about the proper maintenance of your bike? I want to make sure that my Prince is in a great condition, but MOM seems to be so detailed and tedious... Is there any other (easier?) way?

My friend did a thorough inspect. once I first bought it and said that it's in a perfect condition, and I have nothing to worry about, but it feels bad to do nothing (except for minor cleaning/lubing/pressure checks) to take care of it.

I can't wait to get my hands dirty !!!

Let me know what did you do to learn about how what works and how to fix/maintain your bike by yourself ?

Thx
Patrycja is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 12-26-2010, 02:02 PM   #2
CookinBeans
Registered Member

ATVs & Motorcycles Repair Manuals, Workshop Manuals, Special Tools

Motorcycle Repair Course

Ex-500.com - The home of the Kawasaki EX500 / Ninja 500R - Index

Road warriors - ADVrider

A shop or owners manual will have a list and the mileage to indiacte when certain things need to be done. Also, Ron Ayers not onoly sells parts, they have a parts fuche that provided blow-ups for better understanding of thing like where gaskets, clips, washers, etc should go, what' to look for if you decide to check your own valves, etc.

Model-specific founs are usually good places to hang out and learn/ ask questions and so on. Advriders isn't really about just one model, but there is a TON of knowledge there.

Finally- hang out in motorcycle types of places and just talk to people.