Motorcycle Forum

Motorcycle Forum (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/)
-   Women Riders (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/women-riders/)
-   -   newbie: simple question (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/women-riders/14746-newbie-simple-question.html)

lucylacy 03-20-2010 09:25 AM

newbie: simple question

Hi

I am new around here. I am 21 and I live in Malta (a very small island in the Mediterranean) and till now I am only learning and haven't got my license yet.

Here in Malta the way to obtain a motorcycle license is very stupid, but yet economically convenient: we learn on a Peugeot 100 automatic and we are tested on the same one. Yet, once we obtain the license, we can ride manual motorcycles. I find it rather stupid, but that's how it is.

My very simple question is this...since the motorcycle which I am being tested on has that kind of stand which needs to be pushed up and down (not the simple stand in which you easily put it up and down with a kick of your foot), I find problems in pushing this kind of stand up. Does it require much strength? or am I just doing it wrong?

I am sorry if this question might sound stupid, but finding women who ride motorcycles in Malta is quite rare and thus I have no one whom I can ask these 'stupid questions. '

Myself I have a small honda cb50. It has five gears and I am quite used to it in the streets. Obviously its a beginners motorcycle, and once I am used to them I would very much like a proper street bike. Maybe a bandit suzuki or a ninja. But I am not unhappy with this motorcycle; its short, ideal for a beginner and Malta is a very small country , thus I don't have long travel distance problem.

Considering that I am a newbie, I quite have confidence with motorcycles in the street but this stand thing is pulling off my nerves and I am afraid they might fail my license test because of it Please help. heh

Thanks,

Lara

Kenneth_Moore 03-20-2010 11:29 AM