Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle Riding > Women Riders

Old 08-20-2009, 10:16 AM   #1
flashbabe
Registered Member

Default Which Harley is right for me?

I started riding 6 yrs ago on my first & only bike--a Honda Shadow 750 which my husband bought new for me because it was such an easy handling bike & the right size for me--I'm 5'3" & 125 lbs. I love the bike (great handling, fits me well & is comfortable, etc.). However, I always wanted a Harley (or Harley custom) bike. I'd like one fast enough to keep up with my husband who rides a Honda VTX 1800cc (too big for me), such as a 96cu in or 103 screamin eagle, but one I can ride comfortably. Any suggestions???
flashbabe is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 08-20-2009, 10:24 AM   #2
SmokeU
Registered Member

If you want a Harley that keeps up with a VTX1800 get a V-Rod or Buell. Otherwise they aren't exactly fast.

SmokeU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 11:06 AM   #3
Buzglyd
Founding Member

A Vrod would be sweet and H-D even makes a peg-shortening kit to help you reach the forward controls.

Other than that, a nice Dyna with the 96" engine should have no problems keeping up unless he rides like a total maniac.
Buzglyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 11:06 AM   #4
seruzawa
The Toad

A Sportster 1200 will easily "keep up" with a VTX1800. The 1800 might had a slight staight line acceleration advantage but as soon as the road curves in any direction the Sporty will be laughing.
Old 08-22-2009, 05:48 PM   #5
flashbabe
Registered Member

Question Which Harley?