Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle Riding > Women Riders

Old 06-27-2009, 10:54 AM   #1
Jollynette
Registered Member

Unhappy very sore tailbone!!

Hi, I've been riding for a few years but am finding my tailbone to be getting very sore even riding short distances. Does anyone else have this issue and what are some possible solutions? I have purchased a gelpad for my seat and also have a different seat from the stock. I ride a 2005 Sportster Custom.....what can you suggest????
Jollynette is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 06-27-2009, 11:13 AM   #2
seruzawa
The Toad

The seating position itself is probably placing the weight directly on your tailbone. Humans aren't really designed to sit that way unless they have a backrest to take much of the weight off. You could tie a sleeping bag on the rear seat pad and use it for a back rest. Try it and see what happens. That worked for me on my Shovelhead.
Old 06-27-2009, 12:28 PM   #3
Kenneth_Moore
Registered Member

The Custom had forward pegs, which, as seruzawa points out, puts all your weight on your tailbone. More ergonomic bikes let you lean into the handlebars a bit as well as take some weight on your thighs and feet. Try seruzawa's solution, if that doesn't help, you can retro-fit the Custom with mid-pegs and "drag bars" to get you leaning forward a bit.
Old 06-27-2009, 12:59 PM   #4
pushrod
Founding Member

+1 on the foot-forward tail problem.

Put mid controls on it, and the tailbone trouble will be behind you (HAR!).

I have become -
Comfortably Numb.
pushrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 09:31 PM   #5
Jollynette
Registered Member