Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Manufacturer Forums > Triumph

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-15-2008, 06:13 PM   #1
jm-team
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 5
Default 2002 daytona 955 speedometer

sometimes it works and sometimes it says 0 regardless of speed. anyone know how to fix this?
jm-team is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 04-15-2008, 07:06 PM   #2
longride
Super Duper Mod Man

 
longride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Anywhere they let me
Posts: 10,479
Default

Sounds like a dirty sensor, or a short in the system.
__________________
I'm a knucklehead
longride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 07:24 PM   #3
pushrod
Founding Member
 
pushrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Baja 'Bama
Posts: 3,642
Default

Do a search for "Speedometer" on TriumphRat.Net.

I've seen speedo threads, but have not read any of them.

Good Luck!
__________________
You would not understand,
this is not how I am...

I have become -
Comfortably Numb.
pushrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 08:37 PM   #4
The_AirHawk
Founding Member
 
The_AirHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Leanin' Tower O' P-P-P-P-POWAAAAAAAAA!!!!
Posts: 11,491
Default

If the Triumph speedo is anything like the Hawk Tacho (which, BTW the late Triumph Tach works on a Hawk just dandy........) - it's susceptible to grounding problems. You may be having charging problems too - only don't know it............. Yet..........
__________________
Parfois, on fait pas semblant
Sometimes, it's not pretend
Oderint Dum Metuant
Let them hate so long as they fear
политики предпочитают безоружных крестьян
Politicians Prefer Unarmed Peasants
Nothing to see here, Citizen. Move along now...
The_AirHawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2008, 07:08 AM   #5
Kenneth_Moore
Registered Member
 
Kenneth_Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: VIsiting the GIft Shop in the Pit of DIspair
Posts: 7,118
Default

It's an electronic part on a British vehicle. Be grateful it works at all.
__________________
www.kennethmoore.org
Kenneth_Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2008, 12:57 PM   #6
pushrod
Founding Member
 
pushrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Baja 'Bama
Posts: 3,642
Default

Here ya go!

Speedometer reads Zero - TriumphRat.Net

Apparently it is a battery-related problem. If the voltage drops excessively during start-up, the speedometer test fails, and the speedo doesn't "boot-up". Sorta.

So, check to make sure your terminals are clean and tight, and your battery is in good health. If that doesn't do the trick, it may be the speedo sensor.

OK, this is where KM comes in with the sal****er repair technique.
__________________
You would not understand,
this is not how I am...

I have become -
Comfortably Numb.
pushrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2008, 12:59 PM   #7
pushrod
Founding Member
 
pushrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Baja 'Bama
Posts: 3,642
Default

Ah-HA-HA-HAH!

The smut filter doesn't like "salt water" when you spell it as one word!
__________________
You would not understand,
this is not how I am...

I have become -
Comfortably Numb.
pushrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2008, 04:26 PM   #8
The_AirHawk
Founding Member
 
The_AirHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Leanin' Tower O' P-P-P-P-POWAAAAAAAAA!!!!
Posts: 11,491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pushrod View Post
Ah-HA-HA-HAH!

The smut filter doesn't like "salt water" when you spell it as one word!
I figure it doesn't know a **** from a **** anyway..........
__________________
Parfois, on fait pas semblant
Sometimes, it's not pretend
Oderint Dum Metuant
Let them hate so long as they fear
политики предпочитают безоружных крестьян
Politicians Prefer Unarmed Peasants
Nothing to see here, Citizen. Move along now...
The_AirHawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 06:26 AM   #9
Kenneth_Moore
Registered Member
 
Kenneth_Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: VIsiting the GIft Shop in the Pit of DIspair
Posts: 7,118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pushrod View Post


OK, this is where KM comes in with the sal****er repair technique.
Not on this bike; British electronics are pre-submerged at the factory.
__________________
www.kennethmoore.org
Kenneth_Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 09:45 AM   #10
jm-team
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks guys,

The battery is new as of last spring, sat for the winter, but trickle charged regularly. Im going to check all the connections again tonight and make sure that everything is tight. Thanks for all the help

Jazz Motorsports - Personal Watercraft Parts & Accessories
jm-team is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off