Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Manufacturer Forums > Suzuki

Old 07-12-2009, 02:16 PM   #1
maine_moonlight
Registered Member

Smile Anyone here have a TU250X?

Hi there,

I was wondering if anyone here has a TU250X? Would love to hear about your experiences with this bike!
maine_moonlight is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 07-13-2009, 10:14 AM   #2
trenttheuncatchable
Founding Member

The latest issue of Motorcycle Consumer News (mcnews.com) has a writeup and evaluation of this bike. They love it. The only caveats they mention are that it only has a top speed of 70-something mph, and it is no good for hauling a passenger. But it's light, easy to work on, gets good mpg's, has a really good front brake (though a weak drum rear brake) and is great in the twisties.
trenttheuncatchable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 01:27 PM   #3
maine_moonlight
Registered Member

Thank you! I am new to riding....the "weak rear drum brake" doesn't sound very good though....is this something to really be concerned with? Why make a motorcycle with a weak brake?
maine_moonlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 09:12 PM   #4
pplassm
Founding Member

Money. The rear brake is a rod-operated drum. Probably the same design used on a 1973 TS125.

Upgrading to a rear disc would increase the selling price. Rear drums are common on entry level and "budget" bikes.

If you are aware of it, it probably won't matter much. I doubt you'll be using it to "back it in" to turn 3 at the Springfield mile.
Old 07-19-2009, 06:52 AM   #5
tmac0033
Registered Member

I agree. The TU250 has a great front brake, no need to be concerned if you're aware of the bike's mild limitations. I'm going to get my wife one.
tmac0033 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 04:15 AM   #6
JapanesePower
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by maine_moonlight View Post
Hi there,