Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle Riding > Ride Stories

Old 06-23-2008, 08:04 PM   #1
Bestmaps
Registered Member

My relief grew greater with each minute as I watched the GPS screen show the road that would get me out of this mess approaching. Just a few more minutes and I was saved. I rounded a curve and hit the brakes. There before me was a yet another river, the mother of all rivers. This was no stream or branch. A good 400 feet wide, the cool clear mountain water cascaded noisily over the rocks. And there, on the far side, was a graded forest road and a path leading out of the river. I was screwed. I watched a white SUV cruise by on the far side. Civilization or something close to it. I paused. I pondered. Options? Go back. Stay here. Go ahead. I studied the river.

The voices wrestled in my head as I started across. "This is stupid, what are you doing" screamed one while "You've just got to make it to the other side" fought for the dominance of reason. I carefully steered around the larger rocks as I bounced forward the water swirling about my legs. I diagonaled out into the rapid flow seeking the shallowest path and ticked off the first 100 feet, then 200, then 300. Just a little course correction and I was there! And that's all it took. That slight change in direction was all that was needed for the water to sweep me off the slippery rocks and down I went.