Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle News > Old News > Paranoid News Clips

Old 11-14-2006, 02:26 PM   #1
DC_Dave
Founding Member

Default Re: Back From War, But Still Taking Risks.

Motorcycles are more dangerous to operate than cars, of that there can be no doubt.

What gets most new riders through the early days of riding is a healthy respect for the machine and their own mortality.

It seems that our returning troops may lack this respect-- and may have a reckless disregard for danger.

That can be a lethal combination.

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 11-14-2006, 03:19 PM   #2
pplassm
Founding Member

As a retired soldier, I can tell you that off-duty antics take a higher toll of our good soldiers than actual combat. It is takes constant vigilance and supervision to make sure that our best don't do exactly what is described here.

There is a school of thought amoung certain military leaders that motorcycles are bad. This certainly attracts some young soldiers to motorcycling just to rebel.

Then again, I know many fellow military riders, and they are, just about without exception, amazing people.
Old 11-14-2006, 03:26 PM   #3
ejis
Founding Member

On every base I've ever been on (USN, USMC), there are signs, flyers, etc. warning about the dangers of recklessness. And showing the results. I've also heard the stats about soldiers dying on return from deployment - it's a tragic trend.

Stay safe out there.
ejis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2006, 04:32 PM   #4
greatoldbikes
Founding Member

Sounds familiar. When my grandfather came back from WWII, he promptly bought a Harley. Promptly crashed it as well. That was enough for grandma - no more motorcycles. Probably saved his life (he was a terrible driver, too).