Motorcycle Forum

Motorcycle Forum (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/)
-   Paranoid News Clips (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/paranoid-news-clips/)
-   -   CBS Sportbike News (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/paranoid-news-clips/2130-cbs-sportbike-news.html)

SuburbanRancher 09-25-2003 06:56 PM

Re: CBS Sportbike News

This is a copy of my E-mail to CBS News:

Deadly World Of Sport Bikers

Let me see if I have this right; you interview a small group of haphazard riders, then broadcast a story that generalizes the activities of all sportbike enthusiasts that depicts them to be reckless lunatics? I have been riding for twelve years with no tickets or accidents, yet I am constantly looked down upon by the general public because I ride a "crotch rocket" based upon just this type of depiction. You make no effort whatsoever to speak with experienced MATURE riders about riding sport motorcycles, yet you generalize the activities of all sport motocycle riders with your sensationalist broadcast because of what a group of "adrenaline junkies" tells your camera?

Thanks for doing myself and the large majority of law abiding sport motorcycle riders the favor by promoting further public confidence in our pastime; it is unbiased, well thought-out reporting like this that continues to instill my confidence in modern media.

Actually, I'm suprised you didn't also sell this story to the National Enquirer or Star; they love sensationalist BS as well..

END

We all know the majority of moden media sensationalizes stories to sell advertising, but it still pisses me off when it affects our sport because little dweeb reporters are trying to score points with their employers without properly exploring the entire issue they're reporting on.