Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle Multimedia > Motorcycle Videos

Old 01-25-2010, 07:56 AM   #1
Kenneth_Moore
Registered Member

Default It's Close Enough

Vanishing Point vs. Vanishing Point

The original Vanishing Point film arrived at the local theater in Cocoa Beach in 1972. I was a Sophomore in High School, and tagged along to see it with my sister and her date. The 1997 remake of the movie was produced for television, and appears on the cable movie channels from time to time. I caught the TeeVee version a few nights ago, and decided to get the original version to compare.

The core of the plot is identical in both movies. A guy named Kowalski in a Dodge Challenger is trying to get from Point A to Point B at high speed, without regard for the speed limit. The cops are trying to stop him. The public is aroused in support of Kowalski by a radio DJ, who portrays him as a symbol of the downtrodden citizenry; the last rider on the open plain, a Real American Hero.

The original movie hero's motivation was speed (the drug) and a bet he made with his dope dealer. Cause enough in the 70's, not so good in the late '90s; the TeeVee version has Kowalski's wife dying due to childbirth complications. In both versions, Kowalski served in the military (Vietnam versus Iraq) and won medals for heroism.

The DJ in the original version was called "Super Soul," a role admirably played by Cleavon Little. Super Soul aids Kowalski in eluding the cops until he is beaten half to death by an angry white mob (Super Soul is Black and blind, and the white population of the hick town his radio station is located in hates him). Super Soul plays a series of excellent music tracks that form the movie's musical score. The TeeVee version DJ is a white, right-wing talk show host. Go figure.