Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle and Product Reviews > Motorcycle Reviews

View Poll Results: Which bike would you pick?
2007/8 Yamaha V-Star 1300 tourer 2 22.22%
2000 HD FLSTC Pearl 1 11.11%
something else 6 66.67%
Voters: 9. You may not vote on this poll

Old 06-09-2008, 09:41 AM   #1
pcpilot
Registered Member

Question Star 1300 tourer vs HD FLSTC

Hi all, newbie here. Hope I posted this in the correct forum. I am in a quandry here. My wife and I would like to buy a bike to tour the US on. We are both 50, Ive owned several bikes before; a Honda V65, Yamaha 650 special, etc. We are looking for something that will be comfortable without breaking the bank. I know there are 'glides and goldwings but we cant afford those puppies at $20,000 plus.
So Ive narrowed the search down to two bikes, though I am willing to listen to other suggestions too. My close freind has a 2000 HD FLSTC pearl w/a 1450cc engine thats now around 1500cc and less than 14,000 miles. It has had a lot of performance engine work done like pipes and breathers, etc. as well as little extras and chrome added. Its truely what I would call a custom bike. It doesnt have fuel injection and because of the performance work probably only gets about 30-35 mpg. I also have to have the windshield re-worked to fit the extra large headlight cover he had put on. It has saddlebags too. My freind is asking 15K for it.
On the other hand, we were looking at both a 2007 and 2008 V-star 1300 touring bike. All we would have to add to this bike to go and ride would be a higher seatback and floorboards for the passenger. It has a, (whooptie-do), one year warrenty, which of course that HD doesnt have now, and no miles being brand new. They are asking 12k for it. We would have money left over for helmets, leather, etc unlike the HD were we would have to purchase those things a little later as we could afford them. The Vstar tourer got a number of good reviews including motorcycle.com.