Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle Mods and Maintenance

Old 07-25-2008, 09:58 AM   #1
Ashley K
Registered Member

Default Can't get bike to start + clutch problems

I just bought a 1982 Yamaha Maxim 550. I was told it ran great, but when the owner went over seas he put it in storage for a year or so. He knew the battery was dead, so we could not start the bike when we bought it.
I replaced the battery and spark plugs, and when I put the choke on and try and start it it starts to chug for a second, but it doesn't turn on. I also can't get the clutch to fully compress. I can wrestle it in enough to shift gears, but it feels like the cable just is seized or something.

I have no prior experience with motorcycles, and just got my license last month. If anyone can give me some advice it would be GREATLY appreciated. Please let me know if I've overlooked anything.

Thanks,
Ashley
Ashley K is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 07-25-2008, 10:05 AM   #2
mscuddy
MODERATOR X

Take it to the shop and have them clean out the carbs, lube the cables and do a general tune-up. It will cost you around $300.00 but will be worth it. Then you can sell that big lump and buy something that befits your beginner status, like a 250 dual-sport.
Old 07-25-2008, 10:10 AM   #3
sachiwilson
Women Riders Moderator

Ashley, your carbs are full of gummed up gas, and they need to be cleaned. Some of the other guys can give you better advice on how to do it. As for the clutch, it's hard to say what might be happening. Things tend to get sticky when they are not used for a while, and it could well be that your clutch cable needs to be replaced.

Sarnali: "what could be more useless than arguing with a deaf female lawyer????"
sachiwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2008, 10:38 AM   #4
acecycleins
Founding Member