Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle Mods and Maintenance

Old 07-12-2008, 08:39 AM   #1
smedo
Registered Member

Default Help with Kawasaki 440 LTD - 1981

Hi,
Cycle has been in storage for 8 years - took it out and it and started. Replaced gas, oil, cleaned carb, sparkplugs, etc. Running OK, but it seems the power goes in and out and when you jiggle or pull the clutch, it seems like it runs better, and the lights get brighter. I'm not a mechanic - just looking for some ideas of what else I should clean/replace or other possible problems. Thanks!
smedo is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 07-12-2008, 10:06 AM   #2
mscuddy
MODERATOR X

Ah ha, yet another old bike unearthed from the garage...your problem with the clutch sounds like something is binding up, like the chain or wheel bearings. Also, does it shift OK? Notchy shifting can point to warped clutch plates. You might want to go for the major tune-up route, cam chain, valves, timing, air filters, etc.
Old 07-12-2008, 10:59 AM   #3
The_AirHawk
Founding Member

Doesn't this bike have essentially the same engine as the EX500? If so, a sticking clutch is "typical" on 'em - the only "cure" is to exercise it. Something to do with the way the oil drains out of the plates when shut-down for extended periods, IIRC.
Let them hate so long as they fear
политики предпочитают безоружных крестьян
Politicians Prefer Unarmed Peasants
Nothing to see here, Citizen. Move along now...
The_AirHawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2008, 11:13 AM   #4
seruzawa
The Toad

Default No.

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_AirHawk View Post
Doesn't this bike have essentially the same engine as the EX500? If so, a sticking clutch is "typical" on 'em - the only "cure" is to exercise it. Something to do with the way the oil drains out of the plates when shut-down for extended periods, IIRC.