Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle Mods and Maintenance

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-08-2008, 06:00 PM   #11
keons5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by longride View Post
The job of the floats and needles is to fill the carb bowls and shut it down when they are full. Unless you have positive pressure in your gas tank, there is no way the petc*ck will flood the engine. Simple as that.
Is this possible? The gas in the tank is higher than the carburetor. Therefore, wouldn't the gas line be slightly pressurized? Then the gas could push down the needles on the float and keep filling. Would my elbow clamp have different pressure than the petc*ck valve?

Could the floats be adjusted wrong?
keons5 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 07-08-2008, 06:12 PM   #12
Kenneth_Moore
Registered Member
 
Kenneth_Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: VIsiting the GIft Shop in the Pit of DIspair
Posts: 7,118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by keons5 View Post
Is this possible? The gas in the tank is higher than the carburetor. Therefore, wouldn't the gas line be slightly pressurized? Then the gas could push down the needles on the float and keep filling. Would my elbow clamp have different pressure than the petc*ck valve?

Could the floats be adjusted wrong?
The petweiner is just an on/off switch. It doesn't do anything like regulate the flow of gas, pressurize or depressurize the line, etc. When it's open, gas flows out. When it's closed, it doesn't. There is some pressure from gravity, but of course, every carb bike has a gravity feed (ok, I'm sure there are some rare exceptions). Like LR said many posts ago, the carbs are messed up and are flooding the cylinders.
__________________
www.kennethmoore.org
Kenneth_Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 06:28 PM   #13
keons5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenneth_Moore View Post
The petweiner is just an on/off switch. It doesn't do anything like regulate the flow of gas, pressurize or depressurize the line, etc. When it's open, gas flows out. When it's closed, it doesn't. There is some pressure from gravity, but of course, every carb bike has a gravity feed (ok, I'm sure there are some rare exceptions). Like LR said many posts ago, the carbs are messed up and are flooding the cylinders.
Is messing with the adjustment of the floats a good or bad idea? I am clueless on why it is flooding so badly. I will take a better look at it tomorrow.
keons5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 07:09 PM   #14
newagetwotone
Registered Member
 
newagetwotone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,302
Default

HA! Petweiner! wtf is up with the censor on these boards? can't say "Pet****?" can you say Douchebag or *****?


edit: yep, yep you can.
newagetwotone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 07:42 PM   #15
sachiwilson
Women Riders Moderator
 
sachiwilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,609
Default

It's a GOOD idea. You can't tell if the floats are causing the issue (and they very well could be) until you check 'em.
__________________
Frappé LaRue
*Safety Queen*
Are you a Rounder?

Sarnali: "what could be more useless than arguing with a deaf female lawyer????"
sachiwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 10:16 PM   #16
The_AirHawk
Founding Member
 
The_AirHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Leanin' Tower O' P-P-P-P-POWAAAAAAAAA!!!!
Posts: 11,491
Default

And if you feel you HAVE to have a fuel-shutoff on this thing, go to a local lawnmower-shop (or big-box discount store) and find yerself one from a Lawnboy (or Murray, or whatevathehell), and put it in the fuel-line.

Your float-needles are sticking-open. That, or you bent the float-arm REALLY BAD in them and it hits the "roof" of the float-chamber before it shuts off the flow. When working-properly, the floats will seal-against a fuel-pump (electric OR vacuum-operated). Lots and lots of carb'd bikes have fuel-pumps (HawkGTs and 1st-gen SVs to name two).
__________________
Parfois, on fait pas semblant
Sometimes, it's not pretend
Oderint Dum Metuant
Let them hate so long as they fear
политики предпочитают безоружных крестьян
Politicians Prefer Unarmed Peasants
Nothing to see here, Citizen. Move along now...
The_AirHawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 04:56 AM   #17
seruzawa
The Toad

 
seruzawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: 8501 ft.
Posts: 17,461
Default

You gots to have a real serious problem if the cylinders are filling with gasoline within a few seconds. Even wide open float valves still flow fuel rather slowly. I'm betting you switched the fuel line and vacuum hose like mscuddy suggested.
__________________
"Make no mistake, Communism lost a big argument - one we know today as the 20th century."
seruzawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 05:45 AM   #18
longride
Super Duper Mod Man

 
longride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Anywhere they let me
Posts: 10,479
Default

Switching the fuel and vacuum lines wouldn't be an easy task, as the vacuum line is about 1/4 the size of the fuel line. Possible, but they just wouldn't fit without some serious screw up.
__________________
I'm a knucklehead
longride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 03:05 PM   #19
keons5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by longride View Post
Switching the fuel and vacuum lines wouldn't be an easy task, as the vacuum line is about 1/4 the size of the fuel line. Possible, but they just wouldn't fit without some serious screw up.
There is no vacuum line. I might mess around with the floats tonight and see if I can't figure out the problem. Thanks a ton for the information guys. I will keep you posted for sure!
keons5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 04:08 PM   #20
seruzawa
The Toad

 
seruzawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: 8501 ft.
Posts: 17,461
Default Don't be too sure.

[quote=longride;188674]Switching the fuel and vacuum lines wouldn't be an easy task, as the vacuum line is about 1/4 the size of the fuel line. Possible, but they just wouldn't fit without some serious screw up.[/QUOTE

I have this sign hanging on my cubicle:

"There is no idiot proof, only idiot resistant.

The ingenuity of idiots knows no bounds."

Not that I've never screwed up stuff myself, ahem.....
__________________
"Make no mistake, Communism lost a big argument - one we know today as the 20th century."
seruzawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off