Motorcycle Forum

Motorcycle Forum (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/)
-   Motorcycle Mods and Maintenance (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/motorcycle-mods-maintenance/)
-   -   Question Regarding: Throttles (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/motorcycle-mods-maintenance/20365-question-regarding-throttles.html)

07-01-2012 02:45 PM

Question Regarding: Throttles

I'm new to riding and have bought a Kawaski Vulcan 500 as my starter
bike. What I wanted to know was whether there was such a product as I'm about to describe. I'd like to buy a throttle that increases acceleration at a slower rate. Something a little more "taut" so I can better regulate starting off speed. Is there such a product?

seruzawa 07-01-2012 06:38 PM

No.
(need 10 character minimum.)

The_AirHawk 07-01-2012 07:40 PM

Sure there is: it's called a "clutch lever".

The Spaceman 07-02-2012 07:08 AM

Mr. Bojack,

Interestingly, there are many products that do just the opposite of what you want; that is that there are replacement throttle setups that increase the rate of throttle opening. The way it's done is by changing the size and shape of the spool that winds up the throttle cable as you turn the throttle handle. If the spool (or pulley) at the end of the throttle tube is larger, the cable moves faster at a given throttle tube rotation speed, and thus opens the throttle faster.

It's possible that a different Kawaski model might have a smaller spool that would slow the rate of throttle opening and still fit your bike. Unfortunately you'd have to find a very patient parts guy to help you locate one.

Or, you could modify the spool on a stock throttle tube. Most of them are plastic or nylon, if you're handy with a Dremel tool you could decrease the diameter of the spool and/or deepen the groove that the cable rolls in to. That would slow the speed of the cable retrieval and open the throttle more slowly.

Order a throttle tube and see what you can do. Try part #46019 from here: