Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle Mods and Maintenance

Old 10-29-2011, 01:27 PM   #1
noz03
Registered Member

Default Help! Chain just came off!

Hey, im a complete motorbike newbie so please go easy on me. I just got my first fully manual motorcycle a few weeks ago and am still getting used to it. Its a 200cc honda phantom.

Anyway, I was driving up a very steep hill and for some unknown reason the chain just came off! Im not sure if I did something wrong, but anyway... is this something I can fix myself or do I need to get professional help? I tried youtubes tutorials but couldnt find anything useful
noz03 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 10-29-2011, 05:55 PM   #2
trenttheuncatchable
Founding Member

Howto: Replace Your Motorcycle Chain in 10 Mins - YouTube
trenttheuncatchable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 08:58 PM   #3
cnrcpla
Registered Member

maybe try tightening the chain? look up the chain slack specs and adjust it accordingly.
cnrcpla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 12:10 AM   #4
noz03
Registered Member

Yeah I saw that video but it was how to buy a whole new chain and involved taking the chain apart with special tools.

So theres no way to just slip the chain back on with a screwdriver or something similar to a bicycle?
Old 10-30-2011, 03:23 AM   #5
lowes25
Registered Member

Default chain

you'r chain slack is prob. lose. Are you'r sprockets in good shape an not bent? make sure there not lose are side to side movement also if you have a bike jack or can get the bike off the ground to spin the tire to see if the alignment is correct. NO you's have to loosen the rear axle nut slide the tire forward to slip it on. you can do this with tools that you should already have. if not start buying some. good luck.
Old 10-30-2011, 04:48 AM   #6
noz03
Registered Member

Ok thanks a lot! Ill try my best.