Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle Mods and Maintenance

Old 07-24-2011, 07:56 AM   #1
smurfyjones
Registered Member

Default Suzuki Savage CDI problem?

I have an 88 suzuki savage. It's my first bike so i am new to these machines but have a very basic mechanical knowledge. My bike at times runs great, i took it for a ride yesterday without a problem. Stopped at a store, came out and started it. It had no power, would not idle, and when fully opening the throttle would barely rev up. After stalling it a couple times and starting it the bike suddenly came alive again. Does this sound like a loose connection? Bad CDI? I have already cleaned the carb, checked the air box, changed the plug, changed the oil. Please Help!
smurfyjones is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 07-24-2011, 12:46 PM   #2
Easy Rider 2
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfyjones View Post
Does this sound like a loose connection?
Maybe but not what you might think.

Check the battery connections to be sure they are clean and tight.
Some of the Zuki's tend to work the battery post bolts loose.
A star washer fixes that.

Could be a fuel problem too; check the filter if you have one and drain the float bowls. Carb cleaner in the gas might finish what you started.

If none of that pans out, I can point you to a forum that deals more with the Suzuki cruisers.
Old 07-24-2011, 01:23 PM   #3
seruzawa
The Toad

CDI's very seldom go bad intermittently. Usually they work as they should or not at all. Check for loose connections in the wiring harness. Some might be corroded. Pull them apart and push them back together a few times. Look for green crud. You can polish the contacts with a standard rubber eraser.
Old 07-24-2011, 05:30 PM   #4
Captain Steve
Registered Member

You are having an intermittent problem with your fuel, air, or spark.