Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle Mods and Maintenance

Old 05-09-2011, 11:50 PM   #1
nihilomni
Registered Member

Default Honda 82 VF750C loud knocking in engine. Please Help

Here is my story. Any help would be highly appreciated as I'm a poor college student, and somewhat mechanically inclined.

I got my Honda 82 VF750C up and running again for the summer and its been about 3 weeks of riding. My bike sat for 2 days and i went to start it and it had a very loud knocking noise coming from the engine. There was no sign of this the last time i rode it. I shut it off with about 30 seconds of idle, and tried again, same problem. It more sounds like a piece of aluminum is violently pinging on another piece of metal.

Things to note:

Starter was having difficulty turning and would jam a few days prior and especially the time i heard the knocking. I thought my starter was just getting jammed or going bad.

A week before i dropped a small piece of rubber in my gas tank. I was thinking my fuel filter would catch it, as i was about to replace that.

I have had a small leak in my left crankcase where the alternator is. I was working on replacing the gasket, but i maintained a good oil level and checked it every day.

The oil filter hasn't been changed for probably a couple thousand miles.

My carburetors probably need a good tune up.

My conclusions:

Hoping to god its not a rod.

Maybe my oil pressure failed and my engine isn't getting the appropriate oil.

Carbon build up from the piece of rubber.

Please tell me its not a rod!

Thanks in advance for the info, i highly appreciate it. This is my only mode of transportation for work and i have no money.
nihilomni is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 05-10-2011, 06:02 AM   #2
Morbo the Destroyer
Registered Member

"sounds like a piece of aluminum is violently pinging on another piece of metal"