Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle Mods and Maintenance

Old 02-10-2011, 12:39 PM   #1
Andybuildz
Registered Member

Default How do I start my bike..haha..

..A lil' about me as a newbie here and to biking:
Happy to have found this site...I hope
I'm a 59 Y.O home renovations contractor/builder (hands on), husband and and father of two girls that does work for customers as well as buying a wreck, living in it while I fix it and then turn it over. I feel like a gypsy at this point but at least when things are slow...like now...I always have tons to do on my own spec wreck.

Anyway...I bought this 95 Yamaha Virago 1100 with less than 6000 miles on it about four years ago as a starter bike. Never rode before b/c I was always so busy I never got around to learning. It just sat in my garage and in my mind until last year when I decided to take classes EXCEPT the guy I landed a huge job from said he wanted to know if he could borrow my bike to learn on. The guy was pretty loaded and the job he gave me on his house was huge so how could I say no. Bike needed some work too and he said he'd take care of fixing it which he did. He actually spent close to a grand getting it into top shape!

Jobs over, he returned the bike and now springs rolling around...I HOPE! Decided I need to get the bike started now so I have the new battery he bought last year on a trickle charge which I should have done last fall when he returned it..gulp.
Question is_____________

When the bike was returned to me it ran fantastic. I started it up once every few weeks for ten or so minutes to keep the parts oiled up..not to mention I was falling in love with it but it was too late in the season to get a license, test. etc so I figured I'd wait till this spring.
My wife and I sold the house we were in and moved to the wreck we're in now.
I emptied the gas from the bike so the movers could put it on their truck with all my furniture.