Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle Mods and Maintenance

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-15-2010, 04:28 PM   #1
lonewolfdiver
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Default Unite Motors Matrix II 170cc oil light

Ok, so I had my oil changed at 500 miles and all was fine now 400 miles later at 900 miles the oil light is lit and won't go out, their is oil in the reservoir and the shop doesn't know why it is lit and how to shut it off.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks.
lonewolfdiver is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 09-15-2010, 04:34 PM   #2
The_AirHawk
Founding Member
 
The_AirHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Leanin' Tower O' P-P-P-P-POWAAAAAAAAA!!!!
Posts: 11,491
Default

The shop (and I use that term loosely) employs Idiots. Either it doesn't have oil-pressure, the switch is bad, there's an air-pocket "under" the switch that won't let it make, or there's a short in the wiring.
__________________
Parfois, on fait pas semblant
Sometimes, it's not pretend
Oderint Dum Metuant
Let them hate so long as they fear
политики предпочитают безоружных крестьян
Politicians Prefer Unarmed Peasants
Nothing to see here, Citizen. Move along now...
The_AirHawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 08:08 AM   #3
lonewolfdiver
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Here's the thing, it has happened to all 17 they have sold. There is oil pressure, there is no short in wiring. It could be the switch but all 17?
lonewolfdiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 08:09 AM   #4
lonewolfdiver
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Default

oh and it started 400 miles after the oil change...so air bubble?
lonewolfdiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 08:32 AM   #5
pushrod
Founding Member
 
pushrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Baja 'Bama
Posts: 3,642
Default

The oil lamp is usually activated by the switch, when it closes (or opens), providing a ground for the circuit.

It sounds like the design is contributing to another ground somewhere.

Disconnect the lead to the oil pressure switch and see if the lamp goes out. Then trace the wire back to the lamp, and see if you can find the 'short.'

If that doesn't work, put a small piece of black electrical tape over the lamp. And check your oil every morning.
__________________
You would not understand,
this is not how I am...

I have become -
Comfortably Numb.
pushrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 08:34 AM   #6
The_AirHawk
Founding Member
 
The_AirHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Leanin' Tower O' P-P-P-P-POWAAAAAAAAA!!!!
Posts: 11,491
Default

One thing I forgot to add: might be the oil-pressure isn't high-enough to "make" the switch. Essentially, this is still a "no pressure" situation though. Unless they put the wrong switch on the bike.

I would find a gauge, tap it into where the switch is supposed to be, then see what the pressure is. Next, I would use a regulated air-supply and rig-up a "test vessel" to see if the switch is activating, and where.

Both of those are relatively simple procedures that any "shop" should be able to perform.

Even one full of Idiots.
__________________
Parfois, on fait pas semblant
Sometimes, it's not pretend
Oderint Dum Metuant
Let them hate so long as they fear
политики предпочитают безоружных крестьян
Politicians Prefer Unarmed Peasants
Nothing to see here, Citizen. Move along now...
The_AirHawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 08:34 AM   #7
seruzawa
The Toad

 
seruzawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: 8501 ft.
Posts: 17,461
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lonewolfdiver View Post
Here's the thing, it has happened to all 17 they have sold. There is oil pressure, there is no short in wiring. It could be the switch but all 17?
Sure it can. It's Chinese.
__________________
"Make no mistake, Communism lost a big argument - one we know today as the 20th century."
seruzawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 08:36 AM   #8
The_AirHawk
Founding Member
 
The_AirHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Leanin' Tower O' P-P-P-P-POWAAAAAAAAA!!!!
Posts: 11,491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pushrod View Post
The oil lamp is usually activated by the switch, when it closes (or opens), providing a ground for the circuit.

It sounds like the design is contributing to another ground somewhere.

Disconnect the lead to the oil pressure switch and see if the lamp goes out. Then trace the wire back to the lamp, and see if you can find the 'short.'

If that doesn't work, put a small piece of black electrical tape over the lamp. And check your oil every morning.
Or, as pushrod has said - they're "sharing a ground" on another component. That didn't occur to me, but then - if this is a Chinese-made bike, it should have.

The Japanese (and Americans!) quit doing stupid shyte like this back in '60s.

Mostly.
__________________
Parfois, on fait pas semblant
Sometimes, it's not pretend
Oderint Dum Metuant
Let them hate so long as they fear
политики предпочитают безоружных крестьян
Politicians Prefer Unarmed Peasants
Nothing to see here, Citizen. Move along now...
The_AirHawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 08:44 AM   #9
seruzawa
The Toad

 
seruzawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: 8501 ft.
Posts: 17,461
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_AirHawk View Post
Or, as pushrod has said - they're "sharing a ground" on another component. That didn't occur to me, but then - if this is a Chinese-made bike, it should have.

The Japanese (and Americans!) quit doing stupid shyte like this back in '60s.

Mostly.
I seriously doubt that they bothered to design a more complex normally-closed circuit rather than a simple normally-open switch.

It's a cheapshyt switch. Replace it with a better one. There should be switches out there that will fit.
__________________
"Make no mistake, Communism lost a big argument - one we know today as the 20th century."

Last edited by seruzawa : 09-16-2010 at 09:30 AM.
seruzawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 08:52 AM   #10
pushrod
Founding Member
 
pushrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Baja 'Bama
Posts: 3,642
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seruzawa View Post
I seriously doubt that they bothered to design a more complex normally-open circuit rather than a simple normally-closed switch.

It's a cheapshyt switch. Replace it with a better one. There should be switches out there that will fit.
Yah. Instead of a 'Normally Open' or Normally Closed,' they went with a 'Normally Stuck' design.
__________________
You would not understand,
this is not how I am...

I have become -
Comfortably Numb.
pushrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off