Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle Mods and Maintenance

Old 04-19-2010, 03:48 PM   #1
BrentC
Registered Member

Default Sprocket Question

Here's the skinny, I work part time and I am a student; therefore, NO BIG $$$$. I just replaced a brand new tire that I got a nail in.

I now have to replace the rear sprocket which is currently a aluminum Vortex with 46 teeth (OEM: 43 tooth, CBR F3). The chain still has plenty of life and the front sprocket is fine. I know that people say that the life of the new chainring will be diminished due to new parts with old, but I was planing on just going with a cheaper steal chain ring.
The basic questions are:
1. How many miles can I expect if I combine the new chain ring with the old chain and front sprocket?
2. How many miles should one expect if the entire drivetrain is new?

Thanks everyone.
BrentC is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 04-19-2010, 04:33 PM   #2
BrentC
Registered Member

Default Next pondery

If I did go the inexpensive route and get a steel chain ring and keep the old drivetrain, I would have to go with a 45 tooth chain ring. I could not find a 46 in steel.
Question: How many links would I have to take out?
BrentC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 04:58 PM   #3
12er
Founding Member

One tooth should be in range of your adjusters. Mileage is a big variable, depends how / what you ride, how you ride it and if you like chain lube or believe its a myth. If the front isnt too bad you should be fine.
12er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 05:39 AM   #4
Kenneth_Moore
Registered Member