Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle Mods and Maintenance

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-01-2010, 07:38 AM   #1
Shinglejohn
Registered Member
 
Shinglejohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 73
Default Installing bullet signals on my cb750

I bought a junker 75 cb750 for a couple of hundys last last week that was in a thousand unorganized pieces, a long abandoned cafe project. It had most needed parts including some bullet signals. All four bullet signals have two leads coming from them. The rear signals from a cb750 have one lead and a ground that mounts to the base of the signal. So how do i properly wire these signals?
Shinglejohn is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 04-01-2010, 07:47 AM   #2
seruzawa
The Toad

 
seruzawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: 8501 ft.
Posts: 17,461
Default

Ground the black lead to the frame. Really, you can ground it most anywhere that's metal on the bike.
__________________
"Make no mistake, Communism lost a big argument - one we know today as the 20th century."
seruzawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 08:03 AM   #3
Shinglejohn
Registered Member
 
Shinglejohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 73
Default

Both leads are black, how do i determine which is the ground?
Shinglejohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 08:08 AM   #4
The_AirHawk
Founding Member
 
The_AirHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Leanin' Tower O' P-P-P-P-POWAAAAAAAAA!!!!
Posts: 11,491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shinglejohn View Post
Both leads are black, how do i determine which is the ground?
It doesn't matter. Either one - that's the beauty of 'lectrickery: it'll find a way.......
__________________
Parfois, on fait pas semblant
Sometimes, it's not pretend
Oderint Dum Metuant
Let them hate so long as they fear
политики предпочитают безоружных крестьян
Politicians Prefer Unarmed Peasants
Nothing to see here, Citizen. Move along now...
The_AirHawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 08:12 AM   #5
seruzawa
The Toad

 
seruzawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: 8501 ft.
Posts: 17,461
Default

Pull out the bulb and check with an ohmmeter to be sure that neither lead is grounded to the metal bullet housing. They shouldn't be. If so then either lead can be the ground.

I have seen lights that are both grounded to the housing AND use a lead to ground also. That was done sometimes for rubber mounted lights. If so the ohmmeter will tell you which lead is ground. In that case you really don't need to use the ground lead at all.
__________________
"Make no mistake, Communism lost a big argument - one we know today as the 20th century."
seruzawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 08:20 AM   #6
The_AirHawk
Founding Member
 
The_AirHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Leanin' Tower O' P-P-P-P-POWAAAAAAAAA!!!!
Posts: 11,491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seruzawa View Post
Pull out the bulb and check with an ohmmeter to be sure that neither lead is grounded to the metal bullet housing. They shouldn't be. If so then either lead can be the ground.

I have seen lights that are both grounded to the housing AND use a lead to ground also. That was done sometimes for rubber mounted lights. If so the ohmmeter will tell you which lead is ground. In that case you really don't need to use the ground lead at all.
Right as soon as I saw you re-post, I thought "but what if it's a DUAL FILIMENT BULB........?

If THAT is the case, then the housing is ground, and both leads are hot (one for running-light, one for signal).

Otherwise, it's like seruzawa sez.

'lectrickery finds a way........
__________________
Parfois, on fait pas semblant
Sometimes, it's not pretend
Oderint Dum Metuant
Let them hate so long as they fear
политики предпочитают безоружных крестьян
Politicians Prefer Unarmed Peasants
Nothing to see here, Citizen. Move along now...
The_AirHawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 08:22 AM   #7
acecycleins
Founding Member
 
acecycleins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 4,129
Default

Are you sure that the DOT even cares if you have signals on your bike? GA DOT doesn't care if the bike is older than 20yo. Hand signalling is just fine with them. Just wondering?????????
__________________
"Slack" - a state of being in which everything flows smoothly.....a frame of mind so at ease that the universe naturally cooperates.
acecycleins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 01:03 PM   #8
Shinglejohn
Registered Member
 
Shinglejohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 73
Default

I dont know what the DOT policy is, but id prefer not to hand signal. Besides most non-riding drivers dont understand hand signals. Its hard enough to ride in the city with out being hit by cell phone users.
Shinglejohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 06:21 PM   #9
12er
Founding Member
 
12er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SF
Posts: 2,801
Default

"why is he waving at me?" "I'll just go around him on the right."
12er is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off