Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle Mods and Maintenance

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-11-2010, 09:23 PM   #1
paolohn
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Honduras, Central America
Posts: 16
Default If my bike has no gas meter whatsoever...

How in the world am I supposed to know when to fill it up? And the odometer's broke as well, so I have no reference whatsoever as to how many miles per gallon my baby can run. (Yamaha XVS650)
__________________
Ridin' till the game's over
paolohn is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 02-11-2010, 09:52 PM   #2
seruzawa
The Toad

 
seruzawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: 8501 ft.
Posts: 17,461
Default

You need to get a working odometer. There's really no other solution. Maybe an accessory bicycle odometer can be adapted.
__________________
"Make no mistake, Communism lost a big argument - one we know today as the 20th century."
seruzawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 05:05 AM   #3
A Star Ride
Registered Member
 
A Star Ride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: central Va
Posts: 1,126
Default

open the cap & look in there

or, fix the fuel meter
__________________
White Trash Hick from Appalachia
A Star Ride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 05:34 AM   #4
MOKE1K
Registered Member
 
MOKE1K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Kalapana, Big Island
Posts: 3,994
Default

Your right around fifty miles per gallon on that bike. The odometer is easily repaired, unscrew the cable at the back of the odo housing. Then unscrew the same cable from the bottom by the wheel. Pull out the actual cable completely it's probably in two peices. Good luck.
__________________
"YOU CAN'T BOLT ON SKILL"
MOKE1K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 07:25 AM   #5
pushrod
Founding Member
 
pushrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Baja 'Bama
Posts: 3,642
Default

If Moke is wrong about the cable, your best and cheapest solution (other than carrying a gallon can of gas around) is to buy a Sigma bike computer, as Seru suggested.

They go for around USD40.00. Don't waste your money on the 'wireless' version.
__________________
You would not understand,
this is not how I am...

I have become -
Comfortably Numb.
pushrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 08:29 AM   #6
Kenneth_Moore
Registered Member
 
Kenneth_Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: VIsiting the GIft Shop in the Pit of DIspair
Posts: 7,118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by A Star Ride View Post
open the cap & look in there
Brilliant, elegant in it's simplicity.
__________________
www.kennethmoore.org
Kenneth_Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 08:51 AM   #7
sarnali2
Aging Cafe` Racer

 
sarnali2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sittin' down by my window, lookin' at the rain.
Posts: 8,719
Default

Look in the tank before you leave to check the fuel level. Your bike probably has a fuel tap with a reserve position. When you start running out of gas, reach down and flip the pet-trousertrout to reserve. Fill up and the next opportunity and remember to set the tap back to the normal position.
__________________
"Carpe` Throttelum -Loud Suits Save Lives"

"He said he's farting because of his medication"...
sarnali2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 09:41 PM   #8
paolohn
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Honduras, Central America
Posts: 16
Default

Very useful stuff! Thanks a lot! I had no idea about the reserve tank until last week [when I incidentially ran out of gas :P ] Thanks! I'll look into that Sigma bike computer thingy...and I'll check the odometer like Moke suggested.
__________________
Ridin' till the game's over
paolohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 04:53 AM   #9
Dr_Sprocket
Founding Member
 
Dr_Sprocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Delmarva Peninsula
Posts: 2,331
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paolohn View Post
Very useful stuff! Thanks a lot! I had no idea about the reserve tank until last week [when I incidentially ran out of gas :P ] Thanks! I'll look into that Sigma bike computer thingy...and I'll check the odometer like Moke suggested.
Remember, like Sarnali said, don't forget to flip the petc0ck back to the normal running position (off of reserve), once you fill up. Otherwise, you'll be pushing your bike when you run out next time.
__________________
"Aid to the helpless indigent is civilized. Aid to the irresponsible is socially corrosive." ----- Schizuki (c. 2011)
Dr_Sprocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 06:34 AM   #10
A Star Ride
Registered Member
 
A Star Ride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: central Va
Posts: 1,126
Default

My newer bike, thank God, had a fuel gauge and even a countdown to empty that don't account for reserve. I've enjoyed the added wanings, but fortunately never have ran out. Several times on the old bike I'd forgotten to flip the fuel valve from res, to on t fill up but also would reset the trip meter & always caught it before I was thumbn' it.
__________________
White Trash Hick from Appalachia
A Star Ride is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off