Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle Mods and Maintenance

Old 01-28-2010, 10:16 PM   #1
b88185
Registered Member

Default Building a 450cc streetbike, need help...

Hi guys,

I'm an industrial design student, and for my senior thesis project I've decided to design (and build a working prototype of) a 450cc single cylinder street bike.

The current concept is a super-minimal bike that uses the engine as the main structure, with only minimal bodywork and an upright 'streetfighter' type riding position. I think I could get it down to around 250lbs, and with 50 ish hp it will probably be a lot of fun.

I could use a little help with the research portion... I know what I want in a bike but the idea is to design this to appeal to as many people as possible. So, if you could let me know what you would want in a lightweight commuter/backroad type bike that would be great.

I put together a survey with some of the main questions I want answered, but if you have some info or ideas I didn't cover feel free to post here as well. Thanks!

Survey:
Concept.45 Research Survey
b88185 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 01-29-2010, 10:28 AM   #2
The_AirHawk
Founding Member

Well, to make it appeal to the maximum number of people, you should either make the riding position like a Gyno's hotseat with forward pegs and a barcolounger-seat. Or, fold-up the rider like a munky humpin' a futbol and slather the outside in a plastic shell with "Repsol" stickers all-over it.
Let them hate so long as they fear
политики предпочитают безоружных крестьян
Politicians Prefer Unarmed Peasants
Nothing to see here, Citizen. Move along now...
The_AirHawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 01:16 PM   #3
Kenneth_Moore
Registered Member

We'd like to help you, but that would be cheating, wouldn't it?

WTF, when I was in college we couldn't get away with this lame-o crap.