Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle Mods and Maintenance

Old 10-21-2009, 09:21 AM   #1
lmcap0
Registered Member

Default Carbureted to Fuel Injection

Following the advice of another one of your boards, I started riding with a Ninja 250. But I'm currently thinking of making the switch up to an R6. However, I had one question about the fuel distribution which could affect when I make the switch.

When I first got my 250, an unexpected event compelled me to leave the country for a couple months. Imagine my surprise when I returned and my bike wouldn't start up. An individual at the dealership informed me (to my best understanding) that as it is a carbureted motorcycle, distribution continues slightly even when the engine isn't running, and as time compounds, the gas goes bad and clogs the fuel lines.

So, I was wondering if any sort of issue exists with fuel injected bikes. I may, after all, be completely misrepresenting the issue, and it could have nothing at all to do with it being carbureted. I worry because I'll have to leave my bike up where I go to college when I take leave, and I need to know the necessary precautions to take.

Thanks in advance.
lmcap0 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 10-21-2009, 09:25 AM   #2
mscuddy
MODERATOR X

Gas shouldn't go "bad" in a couple months. Fuel distribution? More like gravity feed on your 250. Get a manual and look at the fuel system, it's brick-like simple.

I've had bikes sit for a year with the same gas in it, started up, ran perfect. I bought a 1964 Dodge 330 Sedan with a slant six that hadn't been started in 10 years, cranked right over, smelled kinds funny, but it got me to the gas station for a top-off (all the spiders and bugs living in the exhaust pipe had a rude awakening).
Old 10-21-2009, 09:33 AM   #3
lmcap0
Registered Member