Motorcycle Forum

Motorcycle Forum (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/index.php)
-   Motorcycle Mods and Maintenance (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=103)
-   -   New guy with a kdx (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/showthread.php?t=13355)

The_AirHawk 10-12-2009 10:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dburton07 (Post 225900)
I looked on ebay and all they have is the FMF pipe. And yes it is an 88. Making an adapter for a newer one is not a problem as I am a machinist. Should I be all set with a silencer that is made for a 200 but not my year?

Gearing question too. I dont really know what changing the tooth numbers do? Im pretty sure it has 14 in the front and 49 in the back, and while looking up new sprockets because i need them, what would it do if I went up or down in teeth? Never really knew what it did.

Well, being a machinist - you should be able to figure it out easily.

What happens to your surface speed when you go up or down a couple of gear-teeth on your lathe? (or move the drive belts from sheave to sheave, if it's not gear-driven)

Please don't tell me you've never worked with equipment old-enough to have either of those........

dburton07 10-12-2009 11:00 PM

Never even though of it that way..... Maybe I should go to bed now....

The_AirHawk 10-12-2009 11:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dburton07 (Post 225902)
Never even though of it that way..... Maybe I should go to bed now....

No problem. It's one of those things that you "knew" the answer to already - just took a bit of a jar to realize it.

As to the amount and direction of change; well, what do you want to DO?