Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle Mods and Maintenance

Old 06-24-2009, 03:53 PM   #1
quetzalcoatl04
Registered Member

Default Rotten Luck

The short version is that before I even started my 03 Bonneville which I bought last month, I was trying to walk it out of my garage down the epic hill that is my driveway, and as fate would have it, the bike toppled on over. (Pardon my ignorance... maybe I was not going about this the right way at all. I'm a newbie, forgive me.) It looked like the damage wasn't too bad with the exception of the end of the clutch lever snapping off and part of the gear shift lever snapping off... at least I hope that's all that happened.

The long version is that this is just another thing to tack on to the already ridiculous resume of trying to get started riding. I've been waiting since last September (not a good time to get into the hobby if you live in the northeast). Waited out the winter until May to take the course, bought and read Proficient Motorcycling, found a used bike that I loved for a fairly decent price, went to the DMV to get it registered and get my endorsement and find out my driver's license had been suspended for 2 years for medical reasons without my knowing - so I waited another month and a half with my bike sitting pretty in my garage before I finally got it registered today. I tried to take it out and before I even start the engine I drop it. Argh! (It won't start now either, however I'm not above making a stupid mistake like the key not being turned properly or the fuel switch not being on...) It's one thing after another with this blasted situation.

So what kind of cost am I looking at here? There's a Triumph dealership/maintenance place about 20 miles away, but I don't know how to get the bike there to get worked on? Any suggestions or words of wisdom would be appreciated...

Thanks
quetzalcoatl04 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements