Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle General Discussion

Old 10-01-2008, 04:11 PM   #1
ngn
Registered Member

Default Good price for a new bike?

Hi guys,

I'm planning to get a new 09 Ninja 650. The MSRP is $6,799. Since this is my first time buying a motorcycle, I was wondering what extra dealer charges other than license/registration/taxes are normally applicable. I talked to a dealer about the 08 Ninja once and he was saying it would cost about $7,900 OTD (MSRP was 6399 I think). Is this normal?

Thanks
ngn
ngn is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 10-01-2008, 04:13 PM   #2
ngn
Registered Member

Also, do you recommended any accessories I should get with this bike? I've read a lot about frame sliders and will probably get those. Any other suggestions?
Old 10-01-2008, 04:15 PM   #3
Kenneth_Moore
Registered Member

The old rules appear to be changing. Time was you expected to buy a UJM bike Out The Door (tax, title, dealer prep, shipping, etc.) for MSRP minus about $500. With the supplies limited as they are by the gas prices, that may not be realistic. I'd offer MSRP for the bike; they'll probably take it.

BTW: you have more leverage with bikes on the dealer's showroom floor than ones they have to order for you. The dealer is paying interest on every bike sitting on the floor or in the warehouse, and they are motivated to sell because of that.

Accessories: start with riding gear; helmet, crashwear, boots, etc. See what you think you need after you've ridden a while.

Sliders are great if you think you'll need them; but some are a pain to install. Others are a simple bolt-up.

Last edited by Kenneth_Moore : 10-01-2008 at 04:19 PM.
Kenneth_Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 04:20 PM   #4
BrowningBAR
Snuggles

Quote:
Originally Posted by ngn View Post