Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle General Discussion

Old 09-26-2008, 03:53 PM   #1
Kawasaki Angel
Registered Member

Default Painting Aluminum Rims Black?

Hey, I'm new to this web site, I am 14 years old and i own Kawasaki Ninja Ex 250, I want to custimize it and paint the rims black but my dad said the paint would jus come rite off is there anyway that i cant paint them black WITHOUT buying a new pair of rims?

Thanks,
-Josh
Kawasaki Angel is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 09-26-2008, 04:07 PM   #2
mscuddy
MODERATOR X

Spread aluminum jelly all over the rims and let it sit for about 20 minutes, it will pit the aluminum surface well enough to cause the paint to stick. Dont forget a primer coat, then the flat black paint, You don't want gloss, do you? Tacky tacky tacky.
Old 09-26-2008, 04:14 PM   #3
sachiwilson
Women Riders Moderator

Don't listen to Cuddy.

Aluminum can be painted, but it may not be very durable. You can improve the durability by using an etching primer, which does a better job of bonding to the metal. However, unless you have a pro set up in which you can bake the paint on, anything you do will be rather soft and easy to mar. That doesn't mean you shouldn't do it - just that you should be aware that you won't get a professional finish from it if you do it yourself.

Sarnali: "what could be more useless than arguing with a deaf female lawyer????"
sachiwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 04:18 PM   #4
Kawasaki Angel
Registered Member

No, I don't want gloss, i juss want a black color, Also, i am not doing this myself my father knows some guys that know how to do it. I just want to find away to make it stick on the rims.
Kawasaki Angel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 06:10 PM   #5
The_AirHawk
Founding Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kawasaki Angel View Post