Go Back   Motorcycle Forum > Motorcycle.Com General Discussion > Motorcycle General Discussion

Old 09-05-2008, 05:22 PM   #1
ivory
Registered Member

Default What can a 250cc do?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi, all. I need to get some information from someone other than my husband. I have been riding bikes since before I had my drivers license. Out in the country it helped my parents that I could get to my piano lesson and band by myself. I started out on a Honda 50cc that my parents won in a raffle (no kidding). It was perfect for a kid. Than I graduated all the way up to a 125. So I am used to small bikes, small cars, all that.

I haven't had a bike in years, and am thinking a Honda Rebel would be nice for me. I need something I can zip around Charlotte, NC with. I also want something I can ride approx 100 miles away from home on the interstate.

Is a 250cc big enough to ride wound tight for 100 miles? Or is it too small, too much a strain on a little engine? My husband is a die hard, broken wing Harley rider. He how has a Fat Boy, before that an Ultra Classic dress hog. He has his ideas about what I need, and I have mine. I will appreciate your opinions.
ivory is offline   Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links Remove Advertisements
Motorcycle Forum
Advertisement
Old 09-05-2008, 05:56 PM   #2
sachiwilson
Women Riders Moderator

A 250 will be fine, BUT it depends on which one! The cruiser models like the Rebel tend to be a bit wimpier, and although it would be fine around Charlotte, you may not enjoy it much on the interstate (although a friend of mine has one and rides all over with us.) If you were to get a Kawasaki EX250 (the small Ninja) you'd have a perfectly capable bike.

Speaking as another woman, get what YOU want, not what your husband thinks you need.

Sarnali: "what could be more useless than arguing with a deaf female lawyer????"
sachiwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 06:03 PM   #3