Motorcycle Forum

Motorcycle Forum (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/)
-   Motorcycle General Discussion (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/motorcycle-general-discussion/)
-   -   Best way to sell my bike? :( (http://www.motorcycle.com/forum/motorcycle-general-discussion/6076-best-way-sell-my-bike.html)

daniellemarie 07-26-2007 05:35 PM

Best way to sell my bike? :(

I have to sell my 2006 Honda Shadow Aero as I cannot afford it anymore. :eek: I am going through some family emergencies. I live in Long Beach, CA and owe about $5400 on it. I am wondering what is the best way to sell it - easily and to get the most money? I am very new at this - any recommendations?:-D

Thanks for your help!!!

Danielle Marie

BrowningBAR 07-26-2007 05:47 PM

Posting on Craigslist.org is free.

Posting here is free.

Cycletrader print/online is fee based, but is very useful.

Ebay is fee based. Also there is a lot more scams and BS you will have to deal with.

Local newspapers are good and they usually also offer online postings.

Throw a "For Sale" sign on it and put out on your front yard.

mscuddy 07-26-2007 06:55 PM

I've had exceptional luck with Craigslist. Stuff that was in the Recycler and Photo Buys for weeks got sold the FIRST DAY in Craigslist. Since you live in SoCal, put the add in the SF Valley, LA proper & the OC. You should have no problem selling it, or have someone take over payments, etc.

Then you can get an old beater KZ750 or something like it for around $500.00 and ride the snot out of it. Think about it...

ccd3 07-26-2007 07:14 PM

C'List

I'll parrot the preceding recommendations for Craigslist.. I had an old dirt bike to sell- nothing special. I took a few pictures, posted on Craigslist.. waited about 30 minutes and I had over 20 offers in my mailbox. Guy I sold it to bought it sight unseen- dropped the money in my paypal account. Couldn;t have been smoother.

If the price is right- it will sell quickly on C'list.

Buzglyd 07-26-2007 07:26 PM

Quote: